Midwest Booksellers Choice Awards have been announced

Midwest Booksellers Choice Awards have been announced

"Locally Laid" and "North Woods Girl" among the winners.

Wisconsin libraries honor Minneapolis writer John Coy

July 21
Wisconsin libraries honor Minneapolis writer John Coy
His picture book, "Game Changer," has won the Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award

U of M to bring in Claudia Rankine and Marilynne Robinson this fall

July 20
U of M to bring in Claudia Rankine and Marilynne Robinson this fall
The Fall UMN English Writers Series, which begins Sept. 28 with Nami Mun, will bring in five authors this fall.

From Micawber's to Milkweed (via Sea Salt)

July 19
Bookseller Hans Weyandt will manage the new bookstore in Open Book, which will open Sept. 6.

Claudia Rankine, Kao Kalia Yang and others added to NEA Big Read list

July 13
Thirteen new titles add to the "makeover" of the list.

Salman Rushdie coming to St. Paul

June 8
Rain Taxi Review of Books is hosting the author, who will read from his most recent novel, "Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights."

20th anniversary season of Pen Pals features James McBride, Billy Collins and others

May 5
Pulitzer winners, National Book Award winner, poet laureate, and a best-selling writer of thrillers: What's not to like?
May 2

St. Paul poet Chris Santiago wins the 2016 Lindquist & Vennum Prize

The annual prize includes $10,000 and publication with Milkweed Editions.
April 27

Erdrich and Grover to be featured at Library of Congress event

The event highlights Native American writers
April 19

Graywolf, Milkweed, Coffee House and Holy Cow! are in the running for Best Translated Book award

Three of the six finalists in poetry were published by Minnesota presses.
April 18

Midwest Book Awards finalists announced

The awards ceremony will be May 13 in St. Paul.
April 15

D is for delightful: Helen Macdonald keeps crowd enthralled at the Loft

The author of "H is for Hawk" was funny, witty and moving in her Thursday evening talk.
April 13

Marlon James a finalist for International Dublin Literary Award

Winners will be announced June 9 in Dublin, Ireland.
April 12

Memorial service planned for bookstore owner Gary Shulze

The remembrance will be held at his old store, Once Upon a Crime, on April 24.
April 6

Minneapolis writer Pat Schmatz wins Tiptree Award

The award celebrates books that highlight gender diversity and exploration.
April 1

Writer William Alexander to judge National Book Awards (not by himself, of course)

A winner in 2012 for "Goblin Secrets," he will be on the committee for young people's literature.
April 1

Alison McGhee wins Christopher Award for "Firefly Hollow"

The children's author, who lives in Minneapolis, will be honored May 19.
March 25

Richard Horberg's gentle novel is our new summer serial

"Stone Lake" will begin running in the Star Tribune Variety section on Sunday, May 29, and will continue through the end of July.
March 22

Five Minnesota writers win McKnight arts grants

Now in its 34th year, the McKnight Artist Fellowship for Writers awards $25,000 to five writers annually.
March 14

Wow! Paper Darts scores Roxane Gay as a competition judge.

Submit your short fiction by April 15, win $500--and kudos from the prolific and beloved Gay.
March 4

This spring's Club Book lineup has local flavor

Nine writers will speak around the Twin Cities in February and March.
March 4

And the envelope please....

William Green is this year's winner of the Hognander Award
February 15

Pat Conroy suffering from pancreatic cancer

He makes announcement on Facebook, promises to write another book.
February 5

E-books take it on the chin among college students

Eye strain, distractions and other drawbacks of digital reading push students toward books with a spine.
February 2

PEN announces short list for 2016 literary awards

Coffee House Press' "Mr. and Mrs. Doctor" is a finalist for the Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction
January 30

Minnesota Book Awards finalists announced

Seven books published by the University of Minnesota Press are in the running.
January 28

Attention, poets! Submissions now open for the Lindquist & Vennum Prize

The current winner, Jennifer Willoughby, has events coming up in March.