The Lynx Beat Logo


The Lynx Beat

Updating you year-round on the Lynx

Lynx's Moore named Sports Illustrated's Performer of the Year



Maya Moore of the WNBA Champion Minnesota Lynx will be among the athletes honored at this year’s Sports Illustrated Sportsperson of the Year Awards in Brooklyn, N.Y., on Dec. 5. 



Moore has been named the Performer of the Year. Moore not only led the Lynx to the 2017 WNBA title, but over the last eight years, dating back her collegiate career at UConn, she has also been a key player on more than a dozen teams that have won championships.

Joining her as honorees are Joel Embiid of the Philadelphia 76ers and Carlos Beltran of the Houston Astros. 

Embiid will be given the "Rising Star Award." Beltran, representing the World Series champions, will receive the "Hope Award" after raising nearly $1.5 million to help in hurricane relief efforts for Puerto Rico.

The show will be televised on NBCSN at 7 p.m. on Dec. 8.

Game 5 ratings double those of a season ago

Wednesday’s Game 5 of the WNBA finals doubled the ratings for Game 5 one year ago.

The game, on ESPN, featured the Lynx leading wire-to-wire, beating the Sparks to clinch the series 3-2. It was the highest-rated Game 5 since 2003, with a 0.8 metered market rating.

The entire series averaged a 0.5 rating, up 24 percent from a year ago.

In the Twin Cities market, the game generated a 7.9 rating. The remaining top five markets: Hartford, Conn. (2.4), New Orleans (1.4), Louisville, Ky. (1.4) and Birmingham, Ala. (1.2).

Meanwhile, don’t forget, the celebratory parade begins tonight at 6:30 at 12th Ave. SE and University Ave., goes down University to Williams Arena, where there will be a celebration starting at 7:15. Both are open to the public and free.