Rules for young hunters
- November 6, 2008 - 8:57 PM
Here's how the new law works that allows youngsters ages 10 and 11 to hunt deer in Minnesota without passing a hunter education and firearms safety course:
• These hunters must be accompanied by a parent or guardian who is licensed to take deer. They must be "under direct supervision and within immediate reach'' of the older hunters.
• They can harvest only those deer allowed by the parent's license.
• Hunters 12 and 13 years old also can hunt big game in Minnesota one year without passing a hunter's education and firearms safety course if they seek Apprentice Hunter status. This is a once-in-a-lifetime accreditation given to hunters who want to give the sport a try. Restrictions govern these hunters regarding who must accompany them into the field. Hunters who elect to hunt thereafter must pass an education and firearms safety course.
• A 10-year-old hunter who chooses to hunt under a parent's license can do so also when he is 11. Upon reaching 12, unless he elects Apprentice Hunter status, he must pass a hunter education and firearms safety course to hunt big game.
• Small game such as pheasants and ducks can be hunted in Minnesota by youths under age 14 without passing a hunter education and firearms safety course, provided they are accompanied by a parent or guardian. Upon reaching 14, they must pass the course unless they seek Apprentice Hunter status, in which case the education requirement would be postponed a year.
© 2016 Star Tribune