A roundup of west metro school board races and school referendums

  • Article by: STAFF REPORTS
  • Updated: October 31, 2013 - 9:00 AM

Voters in several west metro cities will choose new school board members and weigh in on ballot questions on Nov. 5. Some of those races:

School board


Seven candidates are vying for four open four-year seats on the seven-member board. They are Lyle Abeln, Tom Bennett, Tim Culver, Arlene Bush, Ricardo Oliva, Dawn Steigauf and Jim Sorum. 

Eden Prairie

Three seats are open on the seven-member board. The candidates are Holly Link, Ranee Jacobus, Elaine Larabee, Tim Laurie and Murshid Barud. Jacobus is the board’s current chair.



There are four seats open on the Edina School Board. The candidates running for office are: Danielle Mitchell Busby, Gayle Castro, Leonel Dorvil, David Goldstein, Randy Meyer, Regina Neville,
Lisa O’ Brien, Mark Sparano, Vivien Talghader.



Vying for three open seats are Katie Fulkerson, Warren Goodroad, Heather Hansen, Gang Gary Jing, Michael Doobie Kurus, Betsy Scheurer Anderson and Tobias McKenna. McKenna announced after the deadline for withdrawing one’s name from the ballot that he is no longer campaigning. 


Three of the board’s seven four-year seats are up for election. The four candidates are John Holcomb, Pam Langseth, Heidi Garcia and Deirdre Keller-Zucker. Holcomb and Langseth are incumbents.



The four candidates for three seats, each with a four-year term, are Sarah Borchers, Don Germanson, Bob Tunheim and Martha Van de Ven. The last two are incumbents.



  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters