Hennepin County Third District to elect new commissioner Tuesday

  • Article by: ROCHELLE OLSON , Star Tribune
  • Updated: May 12, 2014 - 6:45 PM

Marion Greene

One of two DFLers will succeed Gail Dorfman on the Hennepin County Board as the result of a special election Tuesday.

On the ballot are former state Rep. Marion Greene of Minneapolis and St. Louis Park City Council Member Anne Mavity.

Only voters in the Third District will go to the polls in the special election, which was called after Dorfman left her seat early for another job.

The district includes St. Louis Park and a portion of southwest Minneapolis, with neighborhoods from Downtown West to Elliot Park, Kenwood, Linden Hills, Whittier and Tangletown. For more information, go to www.hennepin.us/residents/elections/prepare-vote.

Dorfman is supporting Mavity, who briefly worked as her aide. Greene has the endorsement of Board Member Linda Higgins.

Greene has a background in health care finance. Mavity has worked in housing and community activism.

If Tuesday’s winner wants to keep the seat for a full four-year term, she would need to run again in the regular fall election.

Rochelle Olson

  • related content

  • Mavity

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters






question of the day

Poll: Who will be the Wild's MVP against St. Louis?

Weekly Question