On Books Logo


On Books

Laurie Hertzel is senior editor for books at the Star Tribune, where she has worked since 1996.

Minn. publishers Graywolf and Coffee House have National Book Award finalists

Jamel Brinkley.

Jamel Brinkley.


Books published by Minnesota publishers Graywolf Press and Coffee House Press are finalists for this year's National Book Awards. Graywolf has finalists in both fiction and poetry; Coffee House in poetry.

Here is the short list:

Finalists for Fiction:
Jamel BrinkleyA Lucky Man
Graywolf Press
Lauren GroffFlorida
Riverhead Books / Penguin Random House
Brandon HobsonWhere the Dead Sit Talking
Soho Press
Rebecca MakkaiThe Great Believers
Viking Books / Penguin Random House
Sigrid Nunez, The Friend
Riverhead Books / Penguin Random House
Finalists for Nonfiction:
Colin G. CallowayThe Indian World of George Washington: The First President, the First Americans, and the Birth of the Nation
Oxford University Press
Victoria JohnsonAmerican Eden: David Hosack, Botany, and Medicine in the Garden of the Early Republic
Liveright / W. W. Norton & Company
Scribner / Simon & Schuster
Jeffrey C. StewartThe New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke
Oxford University Press
Adam Winkler, We the Corporations: How American Businesses Won Their Civil Rights
Liveright / W. W. Norton & Company
Finalists for Poetry:
Rae ArmantroutWobble
Wesleyan University Press
Terrance HayesAmerican Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin
Penguin Books / Penguin Random House
Diana Khoi NguyenGhost Of
Omnidawn Publishing
Justin Phillip ReedIndecency
Coffee House Press
Jenny Xie, Eye Level
Graywolf Press
Finalists for Translated Literature:
Négar DjavadiDisoriental
Translated by Tina Kover
Europa Editions
Hanne Ørstavik, Love
Translated by Martin Aitken
Archipelago Books
Domenico StarnoneTrick
Translated by Jhumpa Lahiri
Europa Editions
Yoko Tawada, The Emissary
Translated by Margaret Mitsutani
New Directions Publishing
Olga TokarczukFlights
Translated by Jennifer Croft
Riverhead Books / Penguin Random House
Finalists for Young People’s Literature:
Elizabeth AcevedoThe Poet X
HarperTeen / HarperCollins Publishers
M. T. Anderson and Eugene YelchinThe Assassination of Brangwain Spurge
Candlewick Press
Leslie ConnorThe Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
Katherine Tegen Books / HarperCollins Publishers
Christopher Paul CurtisThe Journey of Little Charlie
Scholastic Press / Scholastic, Inc.
Jarrett J. KrosoczkaHey, Kiddo
Graphix / Scholastic, Inc.
The winners will be announced Nov. 14.

Minnesota writer Leif Enger's new novel on Andrew Carnegie Medal fiction long list


Leif Enger. Star Tribune photo by David Joles.

Leif Enger. Star Tribune photo by David Joles.


"Virgil Wander," the first novel in 10 years by Minnesota writer Leif Enger, has been long-listed for this year's Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence.

Enger will speak at Talking Volumes at the Fitzgerald Theater tomorrow night.
Also on the list are Tayari Jones' "An American Marriage," Anne Tyler's "Clock Dance," and 23 other novels.
The nonfiction long list includes Wil Haygood's "Tigerland" (Haygood will be in St. Paul on Oct. 30 for Club Book), Susan Orlean's "The Library Book," and Clemantine Wamariya's "The Girl Who Smiled Beads."
The short lists will be announced Oct. 24 and the winners will be announced in January.
Here are the lists.


Ackerman, Elliot. Waiting for Eden. (Knopf)

Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame. Friday Black. (HMH/Mariner)

Ball, Jesse. Census. (Ecco)

Edugyan, Esi. Washington Black. (Knopf)

Emezi, Akwaeke. Freshwater. (Grove)

Enger, Leif. Virgil Wander. (Grove/Atlantic)

Evans, Diana. Ordinary People. (Norton/Liveright)

Faye, Gaël. Small Country. (Hogarth)

House, Silas. Southernmost. (Algonquin)

Jones, Tayari. An American Marriage. (Algonquin)

Kingsolver, Barbara. Unsheltered. (Harper)

Kushner, Rachel. The Mars Room. (Scribner)

Kwon, R.O. The Incendiaries. (Riverhead)

Makkai, Rebecca. The Great Believers. (Viking)

Miller, Madeline. Circe. (Little, Brown)

Mosley, Walter. John Woman. (Grove)

Ondaatje, Michael. Warlight. (Knopf)

Orange, Tommy. There There. (Knopf)

Powers, Richard. The Overstory. (Norton)

Shteyngart, Gary. Lake Success. (Random)

Sittenfeld, Curtis. You Think It, I’ll Say It. (Random)

Tamirat, Nafkote. The Parking Lot Attendant. (Holt)

Tyler, Anne. Clock Dance. (Knopf)

Winman, Sarah. Tin Man. (Putnam)

Winthrop, Elizabeth. The Mercy Seat. (Grove)



Clemantine Wamariya, author of "The Girl Who Smiled Beads." Photo by Julia Zave.

Clemantine Wamariya, author of "The Girl Who Smiled Beads." Photo by Julia Zave.


Albright, Madeleine. Fascism: A Warning. (Harper)

Anderson, Sam. Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding, Its Apocalyptic Weather, Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-Class Metropolis. (Crown)

Austen, Ben. High-Risers: Cabrini-Green and the Fate of American Public Housing. (Harper)

Cantú, Francisco. The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border. (Riverhead)

Chee, Alexander. How to Write an Autobiographical Novel. (HMH/Mariner)

Clark, Anna. The Poisoned City: Flint's Water and the American Urban Tragedy. (Holt/Metropolitan)

De Hart, Jane Sherron. Ruth Bader Ginsburg. (Knopf)

Gerald, Casey. There Will Be No Miracles Here. (Riverhead)

Haygood, Wil. Tigerland, 1968-1969: A City Divided, a Nation Torn Apart, and a Magical Season of Healing. (Knopf)

Hilsum, Lindsey. In Extremis: The Life and Death of the War Correspondent Marie Colvin. (FSG)

Hinton, Anthony Ray and Lara Love Hardin. The Sun Does Shine: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row. (St. Martin’s)

Johnson, Kirk Wallace. The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century. (Viking)

Laymon, Kiese. Heavy: An American Memoir. (Scribner)

Levy, Deborah. The Cost of Living. (Bloomsbury)

Klinenberg, Eric. Palaces for the People: How Social Infrastructure Can Help Fight Inequality, Polarization, and the Decline of Civic Life. (Crown)

Macy, Beth. Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors, and the Drug Company That Addicted America. (Little, Brown)

McNamara, Michelle. I’ll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman’s Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer. (Harper)

Mohr, Tim. Burning Down the Haus: Punk Rock, Revolution, and the Fall of the Berlin Wall. (Algonquin)

Orlean, Susan. The Library Book. (Simon & Schuster)

Perry, Imani. Looking for Lorraine: The Radiant and Radical Life of Lorraine Hansberry. (Beacon)

Wamariya, Clemantine and Elizabeth Weil. The Girl Who Smiled Beads: A Story of War and What Comes After. (Crown)

Westover, Tara. Educated. (Random)


Event Calendar
  • Today
  • Sun
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed

No Events Available.