Lynx to tip off May 16; home opener two days later

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: February 7, 2014 - 7:02 AM
hide

Carrying the Championship trophy, Minnesota Lynx Seimone Augustus and the team were welcomed by fans upon their arrival at the Humphrey Terminal, Friday, October 11, 2012 in Bloomington, MN.

Photo: Elizabeth Flores, Star Tribune

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

The Lynx and the WNBA announced the 2014 schedule Thursday, and a record six of their games will be televised nationally on ESPN2.

The defending league champion will open the season at Washington on May 16. The home opener will be two days later against Connecticut at 4 p.m. at Target Center.

The 34-game regular season will run through Aug. 17. The team’s 17-game home schedule includes 10 weekend games (three on Friday, one on Saturday and six on Sunday).

In a rematch of last season’s WNBA Finals, the Atlanta Dream visits July 22, and in a rematch of last season’s Western Conference finals, the Phoenix Mercury visit June 15 and July 31.

 

2014 Minnesota Lynx Schedule

Date Opponent Time
Friday, May 16 at Washington 7:00 PM
Sunday, May 18 CONNECTICUT 4:00 PM
Friday, May 23 at Tulsa 7:00 PM
Saturday, May 24 NEW YORK 7:00 PM
Monday, May 26 at Chicago 2:30 p.m.*
Friday, May 30 SAN ANTONIO 7:00 PM
Sunday, June 1 at San Antonio 3:30 p.m.
Friday, June 6 @ Seattle 7:00 PM
Sunday, June 8 at Los Angeles 12:30 p.m.
Friday, June 13 at Atlanta 7:30 PM
Sunday, June 15 PHOENIX* 12 p.m.
Tuesday, June 17 at Los Angeles 7:30 PM
Wednesday, June 18 at Phoenix 7:00 p.m
Friday, June 20 WASHINGTON 7:00 PM
Sunday, June 22 INDIANA 6:00 PM
Friday, June 27 at Seattle 7:00 PM
Sunday, June 29 SEATTLE 6:00 PM
Thursday, July 3 SAN ANTONIO 7:00 PM
Sunday, July 6 at New York 2:00 PM*
Tuesday, July 8 LOS ANGELES 8:00 PM*
Thursday, July 10 at Tulsa 7:00 PM
Sunday, July 13 SEATTLE 2:00 PM*
Wednesday, July 16 TULSA 12:00 PM
Tuesday, July 22 ATLANTA 7:00 PM
Friday, July 25 SAN ANTONIO 7:00 PM
Sunday, July 27 at Connecticut 7:00 PM
Thursday, July 31 PHOENIX 3:00 PM
Saturday, August 2 at Tulsa 7:00 PM
Tuesday, August 5 at Indiana 7:00 PM
Thursday, August 7 CHICAGO 7:00 PM*
Saturday, August 9 at Phoenix 7:00 PM
Tuesday, August 12 LOS ANGELES 7:00 PM
Friday, August 15 at San Antonio 7:00 PM
Sunday, August 17 TULSA 6:00 PM

 

 

Etc.

• Six Minnesota players were named to PrepVolleyball.com’s 150-member All-America team. They are senior outside hitters Kenzie Beekman of Marshall, Alyssa Goehner of Lakeville North, Mackenzie Horkey of Southwest Christian and Taylr McNeil of Eagan, senior right-side hitter and setter Lydia Dimke of Blaine and junior setter Samantha Seliger-Swenson of Hopkins.

• Defender Elizabeth Endy of Minnetonka was named the state’s Gatorade girls’ soccer player of the year. She led the Skippers, who gave up only 10 goals and had 13 shutouts, to a Class 2A state title.

• The Gophers softball team, which went 36-19 and to the NCAA tournament a year ago, opens its season on Friday with two games in Louisiana State’s Tiger Classic in Baton Rouge, La. The Gophers will play Murray State at 3 p.m. and then Louisiana State at 5 p.m.

• The No. 1-rated Gophers women’s hockey team will play Bemidji State at 7 p.m. Friday and 4 p.m. Saturday at Ridder Arena.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions

ADVERTISEMENT

Tennessee 7:25 PM
Jacksonville
Philadelphia 12/20/14 3:30 PM
Washington
San Diego 12/20/14 7:25 PM
San Francisco
Minnesota 12/21/14 12:00 PM
Miami
Baltimore 12/21/14 12:00 PM
Houston
Detroit 12/21/14 12:00 PM
Chicago
Cleveland 12/21/14 12:00 PM
Carolina
Atlanta 12/21/14 12:00 PM
New Orleans
Green Bay 12/21/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Kansas City 12/21/14 12:00 PM
Pittsburgh
New England 12/21/14 12:00 PM
NY Jets
NY Giants 12/21/14 3:05 PM
St. Louis
Buffalo 12/21/14 3:25 PM
Oakland
Indianapolis 12/21/14 3:25 PM
Dallas
Seattle 12/21/14 7:30 PM
Arizona
Denver 12/22/14 7:30 PM
Cincinnati
New York 7:00 PM
Chicago
New Orleans 7:30 PM
Houston
Milwaukee 9:00 PM
Sacramento
Oklahoma City 9:30 PM
Golden State
Florida 6:00 PM
Philadelphia
Colorado 6:00 PM
Pittsburgh
Toronto 6:00 PM
Carolina
Washington 6:00 PM
Columbus
Anaheim 6:30 PM
Montreal
St. Louis 9:30 PM
Los Angeles
Edmonton 9:30 PM
San Jose
St Thomas (TX) 61 FINAL
Rice 72
Stony Brook 6:00 PM
Canisius
Temple 6:00 PM
Delaware
FIU 6:00 PM
Long Island
Lehigh 6:00 PM
Quinnipiac
South Alabama 6:00 PM
Richmond
Seton Hall 6:00 PM
South Florida
Ga Southern 6:00 PM
Stetson
Yale 6:00 PM
Vermont
Cleveland State 6:00 PM
Virginia
Wright State 6:00 PM
Western Carolina
Nicholls 6:30 PM
Louisiana Tech
Morgan State 6:30 PM
Rider
Idaho State 6:30 PM
South Dakota St
Oakland City 7:00 PM
Austin Peay
Eureka 7:00 PM
Bradley
Appalachian St 7:00 PM
Charlotte
Connecticut 7:00 PM
Duke
Southern Miss 7:00 PM
Jackson State
Coastal Carolina 7:00 PM
Ole Miss
Montana State 7:30 PM
South Dakota
LSU 8:00 PM
UAB
Ohio 8:05 PM
Evansville
CS-Dominguez 9:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
Walla Walla 9:00 PM
Idaho
DePaul 9:00 PM
Oregon State
Nevada 9:00 PM
Pacific
Portland State 9:00 PM
San Francisco
CS-Bakersfield 9:05 PM
Utah State
Nevada 12/20/14 10:00 AM
Louisiana
Utah State 12/20/14 1:20 PM
Texas-El Paso
(23) Utah 12/20/14 2:30 PM
Colorado State
Western Mich 12/20/14 4:45 PM
Air Force
South Alabama 12/20/14 8:15 PM
Bowling Green
BYU 12/22/14 1:00 PM
Memphis
Marshall 12/23/14 5:00 PM
Northern Ill
Navy 12/23/14 8:30 PM
San Diego St
Central Mich 12/24/14 11:00 AM
Western Ky
Fresno State 12/24/14 7:00 PM
Rice
Niagara 76 FINAL
Cleveland State 58
High Point 59 FINAL
VA Commonwealth 81
Towson 64 FINAL
Wake Forest 74
Presbyterian 50 FINAL
Charlotte 66
Chicago State 62 FINAL
Bradley 59
Northwestern Coll 58 FINAL
Drake 102
Vanderbilt 67 FINAL
Marquette 80
Temple 4:00 PM
Howard
Southern Miss 4:00 PM
Ole Miss
UMBC 4:00 PM
Rider
Miami-Florida 5:00 PM
UCLA
St Mary-KS 5:00 PM
South Dakota
William & Mary 5:00 PM
Wofford
Troy 5:30 PM
Evansville
Loyola Marymount 6:00 PM
USC
St Francis-PA 6:00 PM
Duquesne
Indiana-Southeast 6:00 PM
IUPUI
Delaware State 6:00 PM
Detroit
Tenn Temple 6:00 PM
Gardner-Webb
West Virginia St 6:00 PM
Radford
Fairfield 6:00 PM
Seton Hall
Dartmouth 6:00 PM
New Hampshire
Ball State 6:00 PM
Pittsburgh
Jacksonville 6:00 PM
Tennessee St
Trine 6:00 PM
Western Mich
Tenn Tech 6:30 PM
Lipscomb
Samford 7:00 PM
Tulane
New Orleans 7:00 PM
Tulsa
Incarnate Word 7:00 PM
TX-Pan American
Ark-Little Rock 7:00 PM
South Dakota St
CS-Northridge 7:30 PM
Northern Ariz
Santa Clara 8:00 PM
Oregon
(19) Oklahoma St 8:00 PM
Weber State
Washington 8:00 PM
San Diego State
Cal Poly 8:00 PM
New Mexico
(10) Louisville 8:00 PM
Grand Canyon
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

 
Close