Gophers women's hockey picked WCHA favorite

  • Article by: STAFF REPORTS
  • Updated: September 19, 2013 - 10:37 PM

After being doused with a water cooler Minnesota head coach Brad Frost laughed with Megan Bozek (19) and Bethany Brausen (16) at the end of the game. Minnesota beat Boston University by a final score of 6-3 to win the NCCA National Championship.

Photo: Carlos Gonzalez, Star Tribune

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


The Gophers women’s hockey team, which has won back-to-back NCAA titles, is the WCHA coaches’ pick to win the conference title this season in a preseason poll. Wisconsin was picked to finish second in the WCHA, and North Dakota third.

The league’s eight coaches also chose sophomore forward Hannah Brandt of the Gophers as the preseason Player of the Year and teammate Dani Cameranesi as the Rookie of the Year.

Last season Brandt finished second in the nation in scoring with 33 goals and 82 points and was the WCHA Rookie of the Year.

Cameranesi was Ms. Hockey in 2013 and led Blake to the Class 1A state title. She had 200 goals and 357 career points for the Bears.

The Gophers will open their season with an exhibition game against Team Japan on Sept. 26.



Miami NCHC favorite

Miami, a former CCHA power, was picked to win the National Collegiate Hockey Conference title in a preseason media poll.

North Dakota was predicted to finish second, St. Cloud State third. They were followed by Denver, Western Michigan, Minnesota Duluth, Colorado College and Nebraska Omaha.

Miami had seven first-place votes and 115 points, UND five and 109, SCSU four and 99.


Minneapolis dives in

Minneapolis is among six cities being considered as the site for the 2016 U.S. Olympic diving trials.

USA Diving announced Thursday the list of cities bidding to host the meet that will determine the team for the Rio Olympics.

Also under consideration: Atlanta; Indianapolis; Greensboro, N.C.; Riverside, Calif., and Tucson, Ariz.

A committee of staff and board members from USA Diving will visit each of the six cities before the finalists are announced Oct. 21. The winning city will be revealed Dec. 10.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Baltimore 2 FINAL
Detroit 15
NY Yankees 5 FINAL
Philadelphia 5
Northeastern 1 FINAL
Boston 2
Miami-Fla 1 FINAL
Miami 7
Pittsburgh 8 FINAL
Toronto 7
San Francisco 4 FINAL
Oakland 9
Cleveland 0 FINAL
Cincinnati 10
Boston College 0 FINAL
Boston 1
Arizona State 0 Bottom 7th Inning
Arizona 2
Boston 6:00 PM
LA Lakers 6:00 PM
Sacramento 6:00 PM
New York
Houston 6:30 PM
Utah 7:00 PM
Washington 7:00 PM
Milwaukee 8:00 PM
Nashville 0 1st Prd 19:45
New Jersey 0
Calgary 0 1st Prd 19:47
Philadelphia 0
Washington 0 1st Prd 20:00
Columbus 0
Buffalo 6:30 PM
Tampa Bay
Toronto 6:30 PM
Ottawa 7:00 PM
NY Islanders 7:30 PM
Anaheim 8:00 PM
Los Angeles 8:30 PM
San Jose 9:00 PM
Ole Miss 0 1st Half 16:44
Alabama 8
Eastern Mich 0 1st Half 18:25
Ball State 5
Kent State 0 1st Half 19:15
Bowling Green 2
Ohio 4 1st Half 15:58
Buffalo 4
Georgetown 5 1st Half 15:54
Butler 5
Toledo 14 1st Half 15:25
Central Mich 7
Rhode Island 2 1st Half 18:25
Dayton 0
Youngstown St 2 1st Half 19:32
Detroit 0
North Carolina 6 1st Half 16:02
Georgia Tech 5
Loyola-Maryland 0 1st Half 18:55
Holy Cross 2
Iowa 6:00 PM
Akron 6:00 PM
Army 2 1st Half 18:44
Navy 5
Maryland 7 1st Half 17:25
Rutgers 2
Kennesaw St 0 1st Half 20:00
USC Upstate 0
Jacksonville 2 1st Half 18:58
Fla Gulf Coast 2
Lipscomb 0 1st Half 19:40
Northern Ky 0
Stetson 6:30 PM
North Florida
Wright State 7:00 PM
Western Mich 7:00 PM
Northern Ill
Nebraska Omaha 7:00 PM
North Dakota
Houston Baptist 7:00 PM
Abilene Christian
NC State 8:00 PM
Texas A&M 8:00 PM
Kentucky 8:00 PM
West Virginia 8:00 PM
Auburn 8:00 PM
Michigan 8:00 PM
Villanova 8:15 PM
Longwood 55 FINAL
Gardner-Webb 63
Charleston Southern 39 FINAL
Presbyterian 47
Coastal Carolina 27 2nd Half
UNC-Asheville 36
NJIT 0 1st Half 20:00
UMass Lowell 0
West Virginia 7:00 PM
Kansas State
TCU 7:00 PM
Fresno State 8:00 PM
Air Force
San Jose St 8:00 PM
Boise State
Nevada 8:00 PM
Colorado State
UNLV 8:00 PM
San Diego State
Wyoming 8:00 PM
Utah State
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who is the best center on a Twin Cities sports team?

Weekly Question