Matt Vensel is in his first year at the Star Tribune after covering the Ravens for the Baltimore Sun for six years. He is a Pittsburgh native and a Penn State grad. Follow him at @mattvensel.

Mark Craig has covered the NFL for 23 years, and the Vikings since 2003 for the Star Tribune. He is one of 44 Pro Football Hall of Fame selectors. Follow him at @markcraignfl.

Master Tesfatsion is the Star Tribune’s digital Vikings writer. He is a 2013 graduate of Arizona State and worked for before arriving in Minneapolis. Follow him at @masterstrib.

Vikings issue first depth chart

Posted by: under Vikings, Anthony Herrera, Antoine Winfield, Ben Leber, Bernard Berrian, Brett Favre, Brian Robison, Bryant McKinnie, Chad Greenway, Chris Kluwe, E.J. Henderson, Heath Farwell, Jared Allen, John Sullivan, Kevin Williams, Madieu Williams, Pat Williams, Percy Harvin, Phil Loadholt, Ray Edwards, Ryan Longwell, Sage Rosenfels, Steve Hutchinson, Tarvaris Jackson, Tyrell Johnson, Visanthe Shiancoe, Vikings training camp Updated: August 10, 2010 - 1:14 PM

MANKATO -- The Vikings' depth chart is out and while this thing remains extremely fluid it is interesting to get a look at it. Note that Asher Allen is ahead of Lito Sheppard as the first-team right cornerback. Also interesting that Ryan Longwell is listed ahead of Rhys Lloyd as the kickoff specialist.

Here is the complete depth chart.


Wide receiver: Bernard Berrian, Greg Lewis, Marquis Hamilton, Logan Payne/Marko Mitchell, Freddie Brown

Left tackle: Bryant McKinnie, Pat Brown, Chris Clark

Left guard: Steve Hutchinson, Chris DeGeare, Adrian Battles

Center: John Sullivan, Jon Cooper

Right guard: Anthony Herrera, Ryan Cook, Thomas Austin

Right tackle: Phil Loadholt, Drew Radovich, Bill Noethlich

Tight end: Visanthe Shiancoe, Jim Kleinsasser, Jeff Dugan, Garrett Mills/Mickey Shuler

Wide receiver: Percy Harvin, Jaymar Johnson, Taye Biddle, Ray Small

Quarterback: Tarvaris Jackson, Sage Rosenfels, Joe Webb, Brett Favre (did not report to camp list)

Fullback: Naufahu Tahi, Ryan D'Imperio

Running back: Adrian Peterson, Albert Young, Toby Gerhart/Darius Reynaud, Ian Johnson/Ryan Moats


Left end: Ray Edwards, Jayme Mitchell, Mike Montgomery

Nose tackle: Pat Williams, Jimmy Kennedy, Fred Evans

Under tackle: Kevin Williams, Letroy Guion, Tremaine Johnson

Right end: Jared Allen, Brian Robison, Everson Griffen

Strong-side linebacker: Chad Greenway, Heath Farwell, Kenny Onatolu

Middle linebacker: E.J. Henderson, Jasper Brinkley, J Leman

Weak-side linebacker: Ben Leber, Erin Henderson, Nate Triplett

Left cornerback: Antoine Winfield, Benny Sapp, Chris Cook

Right cornerback: Asher Allen, Lito Sheppard, DeAndre Wright, Marcus Sherels

Strong safety: Tyrell Johnson, Jamarca Sanford, Eric Frampton

Free safety: Madieu Williams, Husain Abdullah, Colt Anderson


Punter: Chris Kluwe

Kicker: Ryan Longwell, Rhys Lloyd

Long snapper: Cullen Loeffler, Jared Allen

Kickoffs: Ryan Longwell, Rhys Lloyd

Holder: Chris Kluwe

Kick returner: Percy Harvin, Darius Reynaud, Jaymar Johnson

Punt returner: Darius Reynaud, Jaymar Johnson, Percy Harvin, Bernard Berrian




Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters