Access Vikings Logo


Access Vikings

Breaking news and year-round coverage of the NFL's Minnesota Vikings. Access Vikings is the Star Tribune's blog covering team news, rumors, games and all things purple.

Son of ex-Viking Kirk Lowdermilk added to practice squad

The Vikings added safety John Lowdermilk to their practice squad on Tuesday and released linebacker Terrance Plummer from the same unit.

Lowdermilk, a son of former Vikings center Kirk Lowdermilk, was a standout at Iowa and signed with San Diego in May after going undrafted. John Lowdermilk , 6-2 and 210 pounds, was released in the Chargers’ final cuts in September.

Kirk Lowdermilk played for the Vikings from 1985-92, and John was born in Edina before his father’s final season in Minnesota. Kirk Lowdermilk, a third round pick out of Ohio State in 1985, finished his career with the Colts (1993-96).

The Vikings’ starting safeties, Harrison Smith and Andrew Sendejo, both have left knee injuries. The Vikings finished Sunday’s victory in Atlanta with backups Antone Exum Jr. and Robert Blanton as their only two safeties. Anthony Harris, another safety, is also on the practice squad.

Vikings name all-state prep football team

Gary Sloan of Grand Meadow was named coach of the year and J.D. Spielman of Eden Prairie the player of the year today when the Vikings named a 30-player all-state high school football team.

The team, chosen by Vikings staff, high school coaches, sportswriters and broadcasters, will be recognized at halftime Sunday when the Vikings play the Seahawks at TCF Bank Stadium.

The team includes Thomas Barber of Armstrong, Isley Carrington of Spring Lake Park, Isaac Collins of Maple Grove, Spielman and Carter Coughlin of Eden Prairie, Jake Geier of Andover, Tanner Gran of Caledonia, Logan Hatfield of Bemidji, Greg Helander of Minnewaska, Amani Hooker of Park Center, Tyler Johnson of North,  Matt Kegel of Chaska, Kyle Lange of Upsala/Swanville,  John Larson of Braham, Kamal Martin of Burnsville, David McCuskey of Orono, Bishop McDonald of North St. Paul, Keifer Miller of Nevis, Keegan Moore of Jackson County Central, Benn Olson of Burnsville, Conner Olson of Monticello, Dillon Radunz of Becker, Sam Schlueter of Mayer Lutheran, Drew Stewart of Lakeville, Logan Swanson of Mankato East, Emmanuel Tetteh-Jada of Rochester John Marshall, Jaxson Turner of Esko, Isaiah Weston of St. Michael Albertville, Josh Wong of Minnesota Valley Lutheran and Justin Yutrzenka of Stephen-Argyle Central.

Final, 11/29 1 2 3 4 F
Minnesota 8-3 7 0 3 10 20
Atlanta 6-5 0 3 0 7 10

Today's Scoreboard

No games for NFL

  • Colorado

    New Jersey

    6:00 PM

  • Buffalo


    6:30 PM

  • Columbus


    6:30 PM

  • Philadelphia


    6:30 PM

  • Minnesota


    7:00 PM

    NBC Sports

  • Arizona


    7:00 PM

  • Florida

    St. Louis

    7:00 PM

  • Dallas


    8:00 PM

  • Vancouver

    Los Angeles

    9:30 PM

  • Pittsburgh

    San Jose

    9:30 PM

    NBC Sports

  • LA Lakers


    6:00 PM

  • Washington


    6:00 PM


  • Phoenix


    6:30 PM

  • Orlando


    7:00 PM

  • Memphis

    New Orleans

    7:00 PM


  • Dallas


    9:00 PM


No games for MLS

Latest Vikings Blogs
Connect With Star Tribune Sports