MSU Mankato plays host to regional

  • Updated: March 10, 2014 - 12:32 AM

NSIC men’s basketball tournament champion Minnesota State Mankato will play host to the eight-team NCAA Division II Central Regional.

The top-seeded Mavericks (29-4), who have a 13-game winning streak, will play No. 8 seed Harding in the first round on Saturday.

NSIC runner-up Winona State is the only other NSIC team to make the 64-team field. Winona State (26-7), the No. 4 seed, will play fifth-seeded Northwest Missouri State in the first round.

The other teams in the regional are Central Missouri (No. 2), Missouri Southern (No. 3), Fort Hays State (No. 6) and Arkansas Tech (No. 7).

In the women’s tournament, NSIC tournament champion Concordia (St. Paul) and two other NSIC teams will travel to Searcy, Ark., for the Central Regional.

The Golden Bears (25-8), who finished third in the NSIC South in the regular season, were named the No. 7 seed to the 8-team regional and will play host Harding, the No. 2 seed.

Wayne State (Neb.), the No. 4 seed, will play Pittsburg State. Northern State, the No. 6 seed, faces Central Missouri.

MSU Mankato, which lost in the NSIC semifinals, was left out of the 64-team field.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Miami - LP: T. Koehler 5 FINAL
Washington - WP: M. Scherzer 7
Arizona - WP: J. Collmenter 13 FINAL
Colorado - LP: T. Matzek 7
San Diego - WP: I. Kennedy 9 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: C. Heston 1
Cincinnati - WP: M. Leake 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh - LP: G. Cole 0
NY Yankees - LP: C. Sabathia 1 FINAL
Toronto - WP: M. Buehrle 5
Philadelphia - LP: J. Williams 5 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: M. Foltynewicz 7
Baltimore - LP: U. Jimenez 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 5
Arizona - WP: R. Ray 5 FINAL
Colorado - LP: J. Lyles 1
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Colome 5 FINAL
Boston - LP: J. Masterson 3
Los Angeles - LP: J. Wieland 3 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: W. Peralta 6
Cleveland - WP: C. Carrasco 10 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: D. Duffy 3
Detroit 6 Bottom 8th Inning
Chicago WSox 6
Oakland - LP: S. Kazmir 0 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: K. Gibson 13
Texas - WP: C. Lewis 11 FINAL
Houston - LP: S. Deduno 3
Chicago Cubs - WP: J. Lester 6 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: L. Lynn 5
Seattle 2 Top 6th Inning
LA Angels 3
Chicago 91 FINAL
Cleveland 106
LA Clippers 85 3rd Qtr 1:52
Houston 78
Montreal 1 FINAL
Tampa Bay 2
NY Rangers 1 FINAL
Washington 2
Los Angeles 0 2nd Half
Real Salt Lake 0
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Does it bother you that Tyus Jones chose Duke over Minnesota?

Weekly Question