Nebraska routs Gophers in Big Ten soccer quarterfinals

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: November 6, 2013 - 10:57 PM

Mayme Conroy scored two goals to lead Nebraska, the Big Ten regular-season champion, to a 4-1 victory over the Gophers on Wednesday in the Big Ten women’s soccer tournament in Champaign, Ill.

Simone Kolander gave eighth-seeded Minnesota a 1-0 lead 39 seconds into the game on a shot from 20 yards out. But seven minutes later, Conroy tied the score on a short tap-in and then Jordan Jackson made it 2-1 Cornhuskers on a header off a corner kick in the 15th minute.

Nebraska (16-3-1) had an 8-5 advantage in shots on goal and a 4-2 edge in corner kicks on the Gophers (11-7-2).


• The NCAA has fined MSU Mankato $2,500 for a secondary rule violation involving two athletes who repeated a course in the 2012 spring semester. Mavericks staff self-reported the violation, which occurred because of a title change in the same course. The NCAA reinstated both athletes for football and track and field. Now the Mavericks are waiting to see if the NSIC takes any action, which could affect the team’s won-loss record and individual conference results in two sports.

• Gophers forward Kelly Terry is the WCHA’s offensive player of the week. She had a seven-point weekend as Minnesota swept Minnesota State Mankato in a home-and-home series. On Saturday, Terry had a hat trick and two assists — to reach 100 career points — in a 7-0 victory in Mankato. … St. Cloud State goalie Julie Friend, a junior from Minnetonka, is the defensive player of the week. She stopped 52 shots in the Huskies’ 4-1 win over host Minnesota Duluth on Friday. The Gophers play at SCSU this weekend.

• St. Thomas middle blocker Kelly Foley was named the MIAC’s volleyball player of the year, and Jane Becker of Augsburg the coach of the year. Their teams shared the conference title. McKenna Reagan of St. Thomas and Lynsey Reimer of Hamline shared the defensive player of the year award and Carlee Hoppe of Bethel was picked the rookie of the year.

• Minnesota United FC was named the winner of the NASL’s Fair Play Award, given to the team with the fewest red and yellow cards. “It’s nice,” United coach Manny Lagos said. “I’m proud of the guys for trying to go about the game the right way and present themselves in a manner that is appropriate for the level of soccer that we play.”

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - T. Bauer 12:10 PM
Minnesota - A. Swarzak
Cincinnati - M. Leake 1:10 PM
Milwaukee - K. Lohse
Kansas City - J. Shields 1:10 PM
Chicago WSox - J. Quintana
Washington - S. Strasburg 2:10 PM
Colorado - J. De La Rosa
NY Mets - B. Colon 2:40 PM
Seattle - T. Walker
Detroit - A. Sanchez 2:40 PM
Arizona - T. Cahill
Los Angeles - D. Haren 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - F. Liriano
San Francisco - M. Bumgarner 6:05 PM
Philadelphia - A. Burnett
Texas - Y. Darvish 6:05 PM
NY Yankees - D. Phelps
Boston - C. Buchholz 6:07 PM
Toronto - R. Dickey
Miami - N. Eovaldi 6:10 PM
Atlanta - E. Santana
Tampa Bay - A. Cobb 6:15 PM
St. Louis - L. Lynn
San Diego - I. Kennedy 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - T. Wada
Houston - B. Peacock 9:05 PM
Oakland - J. Chavez
Baltimore - C. Tillman 9:05 PM
LA Angels - J. Weaver
Chicago 9:30 PM
San Jose
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Connecticut 53 3rd Qtr 4:03
Washington 49
New York 9:30 PM
Los Angeles
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question