'Dynasty' talk for Gopher women? Save that chat for later

  • Article by: JOE CHRISTENSEN , Star Tribune
  • Updated: March 24, 2013 - 11:45 PM

After winning back-to-back NCAA titles and 49 games in a row, Gophers coach Brad Frost knew it wouldn’t take long for questions to start coming about next year.

Sure enough, after his team’s 6-3 victory over Boston University in Sunday’s national title game, a reporter asked Frost if the word “dynasty” was in his vocabulary.

“I’m not a big one for dynasty talk and all that,” Frost said. “I’ll let other people do that. But obviously we’ve got a real good thing going, and it starts by recruiting great people who happen to be great hockey players, and we’ve been able to do that.”

How long will the winning streak last once the puck drops again for the Gophers in six months? That’s hard to say, but the team definitely will be missing some key players.

Outgoing seniors include two Patty Kazmaier finalists — goaltender Noora Raty and defenseman Megan Bozek — along with forwards Becky Kortum and Katie Frischmann, and defenseman Mira Jalosuo.

Frost said the Kazmaier winner, Amanda Kessel, is a lock to make next year’s U.S. Olympic team, so she’ll miss the college season, but she plans to return to the Gophers the following year. Three other potential U.S. Olympians include forward Hannah Brandt and defensemen Lee Stecklein and Milica McMillen.

So there will be holes to fill, but next year’s incoming recruiting class includes this year’s Ms. Minnesota Hockey, Dani Cameranesi (from Blake), along with three other finalists: Kate Flug (Roseville), Paige Haley (Red Wing) and Kate Schipper (Breck).

“We’ll worry about next year, next year,” Frost said. “But this team is a group that will be imprinted forever in history.”

Former boss’ approval

Frost, who won his first national coach of the year award Thursday, was an assistant coach under Laura Halldorson when the Gophers won NCAA titles in 2004 and 2005.

Halldorson, who still works for the University’s Golden Gopher Fund, gave the keynote speech at Saturday’s Patty Kazmaier Award ceremony. Afterward, she was asked what it’s been like following this year’s undefeated season.

“I’m really proud of Brad and the job he’s done and what he’s been able to instill in this team,” Halldorson said. “Because it really is hard to explain that they haven’t lost a game all year.”

Halldorson thinks the secret can be traced back to something Brandt said a few weeks ago about each player’s mind-set: “We play for each other.”

“I really think it’s more than just talent,” Halldorson said. “It’s more than just systems. You have to have those things, but they have something beyond that. Call it a will to win, call it chemistry, whatever you call it, they have it.”


• The Frozen Four all-tournament team included Raty, Bozek, Kessel, Brandt, McMillen and Boston University’s Marie-Philip Poulin. Raty was named MVP for the second straight year.

• Since the NCAA started crowning a women’s hockey champion in 2001, the WCHA has won each year. Minnesota Duluth has five titles, and Minnesota and Wisconsin have four apiece.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


New England 2/1/15 5:30 PM
Toronto 104 FINAL
Indiana 91
Cleveland 103 FINAL
Detroit 95
Milwaukee 104 4th Qtr 2:32
Miami 94
Memphis 58 3rd Qtr 11:05
Dallas 44
Chicago 9:30 PM
Golden State
Washington 9:30 PM
LA Lakers
NY Rangers 1 3rd Prd
NY Islanders 4
Arizona 3 FINAL(SO)
Philadelphia 4
Winnipeg 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh 5
Washington 3 FINAL
Columbus 4
Tampa Bay 2 3rd Prd 6:00
Carolina 4
Dallas 2 3rd Prd 10:44
Montreal 3
Detroit 5 3rd Prd 8:47
Florida 4
Colorado 2 3rd Prd
Nashville 2
Buffalo 1 2nd Prd
Calgary 1
Minnesota 0 1st Prd 11:34
Edmonton 0
Anaheim 9:00 PM
Ball State 47 FINAL
Akron 59
Northern Ill 46 FINAL
Bowling Green 56
Western Mich 71 FINAL
Buffalo 77
Ohio 40 FINAL
Eastern Mich 76
Xavier 66 FINAL
Georgetown 53
Vanderbilt 62 FINAL
Georgia 70
West Virginia 65 FINAL
Kansas State 59
Central Mich 53 FINAL
Kent State 63
Saint Josephs 48 FINAL
La Salle 53
Nebraska 44 FINAL
Michigan 58
Miami-Ohio 65 FINAL
Toledo 70
Tulsa 62 FINAL
Tulane 55
George Washington 48 FINAL
VA Commonwealth 72
Pittsburgh 67 FINAL
Virginia Tech 70
Indiana State 62 2nd Half 3:47
Evansville 75
Tabor College 53 FINAL
Oral Roberts 94
Florida 35 2nd Half
Alabama 22
Tennessee 33 1st Half 1:56
Arkansas 31
Texas A&M 28 1st Half 1:50
Auburn 24
Baylor 21 2nd Half
Oklahoma State 30
DePaul 0 Postponed
Providence 0
Michigan State 0 Postponed
Rutgers 0
Wyoming 26 2nd Half
Utah State 29
Fresno State 22 2nd Half
San Diego St 32
UNLV 9:00 PM
SD Christian 9:00 PM
Colorado State 10:00 PM
Boise State
Temple 71 FINAL
UCF 54
Campbell 42 FINAL
Presbyterian 51
Coastal Carolina 65 FINAL
High Point 73
Gardner-Webb 49 FINAL
Radford 59
UNC-Asheville 58 FINAL
Liberty 62
Winthrop 63 FINAL
Longwood 62
Columbia International 33 FINAL
Charleston Southern 74
Tulane 63 FINAL
Houston 46
(3) Baylor 89 FINAL
TCU 67
Navy 49 FINAL
American Univ 59
Valparaiso 42 FINAL
Illinois-Chicago 60
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Do you favor the plan for expanded athletic facilities at the U of M?

Weekly Question