U women's hockey ties NCAA mark by staying perfect

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: January 19, 2013 - 10:45 PM

The Gophers extended their unbeaten streak to 32 consecutive games by beating Minnesota State Mankato.

MANKATO - The Gophers women's hockey team routed Minnesota State Mankato 6-0 on Saturday and tied the NCAA record for the longest unbeaten streak.

Wisconsin has had two 32-game unbeaten streaks, and now the Gophers (24-0, 18-0 WCHA) share that mark.

"Really happy to make it 32 in a row, and 24 on the season," Gophers coach Brad Frost said. "And for [Amanda] Kessel to get her 200th point and be the sixth player in our program's history is pretty special."

Kessel had three assists, and on her second, the junior she became the 24th player in NCAA history with 200 points.

"I didn't even know I had reached it," she asid. "I knew I was close, but my linemates were pointing it out and telling me congrats when I got to the bench."

Noora Raty made 26 saves for her ninth shutout for the Gophers, who outshot the Mavericks (9-14-3, 5-12-3) 41-26. The victory for Raty was the 98th of her career.

Megan Bozek had two goals and two assists for the Gophers, scoring in second and third period after assisting on the first goal of the game.

"It's a team game," Bozek said. "I can't take credit pretty much any of those points. It's a team effort."

Freshman Milica McMillen gave the Gophers a 1-0 lead on a power-play goal midway through the opening period.

Hannah Brandt won the faceoff in the Minnesota State territory and batted the puck to Kessel, who quickly passed to Bozek at the blue line, who cycled it to McMillen at the right faceoff circle. McMillen blasted a one-timer in for what proved to be the winner.


    Up next: 2 p.m. Friday and 2 p.m. next Sunday at Wisconsin

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


LA Angels - J. Weaver 6:05 PM
Baltimore - C. Tillman
Seattle - H. Iwakuma 6:05 PM
Cleveland - T. Bauer
Chicago WSox - J. Quintana 6:08 PM
Detroit - A. Sanchez
Washington - S. Strasburg 6:10 PM
Miami - H. Alvarez
Philadelphia - C. Hamels 6:10 PM
NY Mets - D. Gee
Milwaukee - M. Garza 6:10 PM
Tampa Bay - A. Cobb
Toronto - M. Stroman 6:10 PM
Boston - R. De La Rosa
Arizona - T. Cahill 6:10 PM
Cincinnati - M. Leake
Colorado - J. De La Rosa 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - E. Jackson
NY Yankees - B. McCarthy 7:05 PM
Texas - N. Martinez
Minnesota - K. Gibson 7:10 PM
Kansas City - J. Shields
Oakland - J. Samardzija 7:10 PM
Houston - S. Feldman
Atlanta - A. Harang 9:10 PM
Los Angeles - J. Beckett
St. Louis - L. Lynn 9:10 PM
San Diego - T. Ross
Pittsburgh - F. Liriano 9:15 PM
San Francisco - T. Hudson
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Connecticut 11:00 AM
Washington 6:00 PM
New York
Chicago 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Seattle 7:00 PM
Los Angeles 9:00 PM
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question