Bulldogs hope blond ambition comes through

  • Article by: CHRIS MILLER , Star Tribune
  • Updated: April 7, 2011 - 1:09 AM

The team bonding concept for Minnesota Duluth meant players dyed their hair peroxide blond before the NCAA playoffs.


Wade Bergman, left, Joe Basaraba, center, and Trent Palm were part of the bleach-blond Bulldogs on display at Xcel Energy Center.

Photo: Bruce Bisping, Star Tribune

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Playoff beards are a hockey tradition.

But ... some college kids have a tough time growing more than peach fuzz. So the team bonding concept for Minnesota Duluth meant players dyed their hair peroxide blond before the NCAA playoffs.

The Bulldogs meet the real Golden Domers, Notre Dame, in Thursday's first Frozen Four semifinal. North Dakota and Michigan play in the second game at Xcel Energy Center.

UMD players tried mohawks and mullets in previous seasons before deciding a more startling look was in order.

"We haven't needed any touchups," senior winger Justin Fontaine said. "You kind of leave it in your hair for an hour or three, and there you go."

Coach Scott Sandelin isn't sold on the process.

"My first reaction? I'm not going to do that," Sandelin said. "I have a 12-year-old son playing Pee-Wees, so I was getting pressure from him, too."

Brothers, opponents

Matt and Bryan Rust are the only brothers playing in the Frozen Four. Matt is a senior forward for Michigan, and Bryan is part of a standout freshman class at Notre Dame.

"I always wanted to play with my brother, and in shinny hockey or whatever, we had a lot of chemistry," Matt Rust said. "But when he chose a college, I think he had to make a statement that he could do it by himself."

The brothers could meet in Saturday's championship game, in which case they both believe their parents will be rooting for Matt "because he's a senior," Bryan said.

Said Matt: "I couldn't think of, if I was a parent, how happy I would be to have both of my boys in the game."

Bryan plays on a line with Calle Ridderwall who, incidentally, scored two goals, including the overtime winner, when Notre Dame beat Michigan in a 2008 Frozen Four semifinal in Denver. The Fighting Irish went on to lose the title game to Boston College.

What pressure?

The Gophers are the host team for the Frozen Four, and the block M will be on the ice next to the NCAA logo. But the Gophers didn't even make the 16-team NCAA field after being upset by Alaska Anchorage in the WCHA playoffs.

When Minnesota Duluth captain Mike Montgomery was asked about being the spotlight as the only Minnesota team in the tournament, his reply needed a rimshot: "Really, the pressure is all on the Gophers."

Lopsided bracket

Neither Notre Dame nor UMD has won a national title. The last first-time winner at the Frozen Four was Maine, in 1993. Notre Dame was in the title game three years ago, and UMD's only championship game appearance was a four-overtime loss to Bowling Green in 1984.

Michigan has an NCAA-record nine titles, while North Dakota has seven.

"Every team that wins [the title] is different," said Notre Dame coach Jeff Jackson, who won two championships as Lake Superior State's coach. "You just have to put it together at the right time of year."


• The teams' practices Wednesday were open to the public, but sparsely attended. Among interested observers at Notre Dame's practice were Gophers coach Don Lucia and his son, Mario, a high school junior at Wayzata who is one of the nation's top hockey recruits. Don Lucia is a Notre Dame alum.

• Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton will drop the ceremonial first puck Thursday when UMD and Notre Dame face off.

• Air Force forward Jacques Lamoureux won the Lowe's CLASS award, which goes to the outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I hockey. Lamoureux's brother, Mario, is a junior forward for North Dakota.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Buffalo 12/28/14 12:00 PM
New England
Cleveland 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Dallas 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Indianapolis 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Jacksonville 12/28/14 12:00 PM
San Diego 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
NY Jets 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Philadelphia 12/28/14 12:00 PM
NY Giants
New Orleans 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Carolina 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Detroit 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay
Oakland 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Arizona 12/28/14 3:25 PM
San Francisco
St. Louis 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Cincinnati 12/28/14 7:30 PM
Brooklyn 109 FINAL
Boston 107
Cleveland 98 FINAL
Orlando 89
Indiana 109 FINAL
Detroit 119
Milwaukee 107 FINAL
Atlanta 77
Houston 117 FINAL
Memphis 111
San Antonio 90 FINAL
New Orleans 97
Charlotte 75 FINAL
Oklahoma City 98
LA Lakers 98 FINAL
Dallas 102
Minnesota 102 FINAL
Denver 106
Philadelphia 93 FINAL
Portland 114
Phoenix 115 FINAL
Sacramento 106
Illinois 18 FINAL
Louisiana Tech 35
Rutgers 40 FINAL
North Carolina 21
NC State 34 FINAL
UCF 27
Cincinnati 12:00 PM
Virginia Tech
(15) Arizona State 1:10 PM
Miami-Florida 2:30 PM
So Carolina
Boston College 3:30 PM
Penn State
(25) Nebraska 7:00 PM
(24) USC
Texas A&M 12/29/14 1:00 PM
West Virginia
Oklahoma 12/29/14 4:30 PM
(18) Clemson
Arkansas 12/29/14 8:00 PM
Notre Dame 12/30/14 2:00 PM
(22) LSU
(13) Georgia 12/30/14 5:45 PM
(20) Louisville
Maryland 12/30/14 9:00 PM
(9) Ole Miss 12/31/14 11:30 AM
(6) TCU
(21) Boise State 12/31/14 3:00 PM
(12) Arizona
(8) Miss State 12/31/14 7:00 PM
(10) Georgia Tech
(19) Auburn 1/1/15 11:00 AM
(17) Wisconsin
(7) Michigan State 1/1/15 11:30 AM
(4) Baylor
(16) Missouri 1/1/15 12:00 PM
(2) Florida State 1/1/15 4:00 PM
(3) Oregon
(5) Ohio State 1/1/15 7:30 PM
(1) Alabama
Houston 1/2/15 11:00 AM
Iowa 1/2/15 2:20 PM
(11) Kansas State 1/2/15 5:45 PM
(14) UCLA
Washington 1/2/15 9:15 PM
Oklahoma State
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters


Gophers Football Time W L Score
2014 season     
Aug 28 - vs. E. Illinois 6 pmX42-20
Sep 6 - vs. M. Tennessee St. 2:30 pmX35-24
Sep 13 - at TCU 3 pmX30-7
Sep 20 - vs. San Jose St. 3 p.m.X24-7
Sep 27 - at Michigan 2:30 pmX30-14
Oct 11 - vs. Northwestern 11 amX24-17
Oct 18 - vs. Purdue 11 amX39-38
Oct 25 - at Illinois 11 amX28-24
Nov 8 - vs. Iowa 11 amX51-14
Nov 15 - vs. Ohio State 11 amX31-24
Nov 22 - at Nebraska 11 amX28-24
Nov 29 - at Wisconsin 2:30 pmX34-24
Jan 1 - vs. Missouri noon




question of the day

Poll: What's your favorite Gophers football uniform colors?

Weekly Question