BCS Championship Game recap

  • Updated: January 7, 2014 - 1:07 AM

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston celebrates afte the Seminoles win the BCS National Championship game against the Auburn Tigers at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., on Monday, Jan. 6, 2014. FSU won, 34-31. (Stephen M. Dowel/Orlando Sentinel/MCT)

Game recap

Offensive MVP: Jameis Winston, Florida State

The Heisman Trophy winner saved his best until last, throwing two fourth-quarter TD passes and leading the Seminoles on a seven-play, 80-yard drive for the go-ahead score with 13 seconds remaining.

Defensive MVP: P.J. Williams, Florida State

Intercepted a pass by Auburn quarterback Nick Marshall at the Seminoles’ 40-yard line on the Tigers’ first series of the fourth quarter (he fumbled on the return, but it was recovered by teammate Lamarcus Joyner). The turnover led to the first of Winston’s two touchdown passes in the final 11 minutes.

Key play

Auburn had just kicked a 22-yard field goal to take a 24-20 lead with 4:42 to play. Before the Florida State offense needed to even get back on the field, Kermit Whitfield already had taken care of business. He sprinted through a hole on the ensuing kickoff and down the left sideline for a 100-yard return to put the Seminoles back in front 27-24. Whitfield, one of the fastest players in the country, got a key block from teammate Karlos Williams and found a gaping alley. His electrifying return gave the Seminoles their first lead since going up 3-0 in the first quarter.


By the numbers

195 Rushing yards by Auburn running back and Heisman finalist Tre Mason on 34 carries.

31 Points scored by both teams in the fourth quarter.

217 Nick Marshall delivered everything but the victory. Marshall threw for 217 yards and two touchdowns with an interception. He also ran for 45 yards and a third score.

147 Yards receiving on nine catches by Florida State junior receiver Rashad Greene.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Toronto - LP: A. Loup 4 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: J. Outman 6
LA Angels - LP: H. Santiago 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: R. Porcello 2
Atlanta - LP: G. Schlosser 3 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. Valverde 4
Seattle - LP: T. Wilhelmsen 2 FINAL
Miami - WP: M. Dunn 3
St. Louis - LP: S. Maness 2 FINAL
Washington - WP: R. Soriano 3
Milwaukee - WP: Z. Duke 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh - LP: J. Gomez 2
NY Yankees - WP: P. Claiborne 5 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: H. Bell 1
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 8 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: Y. Ventura 3
Cincinnati - WP: H. Bailey 8 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: C. Villanueva 2
Chicago WSox - WP: E. Johnson 16 FINAL
Texas - LP: R. Ross Jr. 2
Houston - LP: B. Peacock 1 FINAL
Oakland - WP: J. Chavez 4
Philadelphia - WP: J. Diekman 10 FINAL
Colorado - LP: M. Belisle 9
San Francisco - WP: T. Lincecum 4 FINAL
San Diego - LP: R. Erlin 3
Arizona - LP: J. Collmenter 1 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: J. Wright 4
Baltimore - LP: B. Matusz 5 FINAL
Boston - WP: E. Mujica 6
Dallas 85 FINAL
San Antonio 90
Charlotte 88 FINAL
Miami 99
Washington 102 FINAL
Chicago 93
Portland 122 FINAL
Houston 120
Philadelphia 4 FINAL
NY Rangers 2
Detroit 1 FINAL
Boston 4
Tampa Bay 2 FINAL
Montreal 3
Los Angeles 2 FINAL
San Jose 7





question of the day

Poll: Which quarterback is best in the NFL draft?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters