WCHA roundup: Lee leads Irish past Nebraska Omaha for title

  • Updated: October 14, 2012 - 12:33 AM
Lee leads Irish past Nebraska Omaha for title

• NOTRE DAME 3, NEBRASKA OMAHA 2: Anders Lee had a goal and an assist and the Irish (2-0) won the Ice Breaker Tournament championship by beating the Mavericks on Saturday night in Kansas City, Mo. Lee, Notre Dame's captain and a former Edina standout, assisted on Peter Schneider's goal only 74 seconds into the game, and he gave the Irish a 2-1 lead later in the first period. Defensemen Michael Young and Andrej Sustr scored for Nebraska Omaha (1-1).

• OHIO STATE 3, MINNESOTA DULUTH 2: Max McCormick scored 6:56 into the third period as the Buckeyes (1-1) earned a split with the host Bulldogs (1-1). Tanner Fritz had a goal an assist for Ohio State, which took a 2-0 lead in the first period before UMD tied it on power-play goals in the second by Joe Basaraba and Mike Seidel.

• NEW HAMPSHIRE 4, ST. CLOUD STATE 2: John Henrion and Nick Sorkin each had a goal and an assist as the Wildcats (2-0) swept the Huskies (0-2) in Durham, N.H. Austin Block's power-play goal late in the second period gave New Hampshire a 3-2 lead. Kevin Gravel and Joey Holka scored for St. Cloud State.

• NORTHERN MICHIGAN 4, WISCONSIN 2: Matt Thurber and Kory Kaunisto scored 67 seconds apart in the third period and the Wildcats (2-0) rallied to sweep the Badgers (0-2) in Green Bay, Wis. Mark Zengerle put Wisconsin up 2-1 18 seconds into the third.

• MINNESOTA STATE MANKATO 2, ALABAMA-HUNTSVILLE 2: Eriah Hayes scored the tying goal with 2:14 to play as the Mavericks (1-0-1) tied the host Chargers (0-1-1).

• MICHIGAN TECH 8, LAKE SUPERIOR STATE 4: Milos Gordic had two goals and an assist to lead the host Huskies (1-1) past the Lakers (1-1) in Houghton, Mich.

• COLORADO COLLEGE 5, CLARKSON 4: William Rapuzzi scored with a minute to play and the Tigers (2-0) swept the Golden Knights (0-2) in Colorado Springs.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


LA Angels - LP: C. Rasmus 6 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: R. Webb 7
Seattle - WP: H. Iwakuma 5 FINAL
Cleveland - LP: T. Bauer 2
Chicago WSox - WP: J. Quintana 11 FINAL
Detroit - LP: A. Sanchez 4
Washington - LP: S. Strasburg 0 FINAL
Miami - WP: H. Alvarez 3
Philadelphia - WP: C. Hamels 6 FINAL
NY Mets - LP: D. Gee 0
Milwaukee - LP: W. Smith 1 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Cobb 5
Toronto - WP: M. Stroman 4 FINAL
Boston - LP: R. De La Rosa 2
Arizona - LP: T. Cahill 0 FINAL
Cincinnati - WP: M. Leake 3
Colorado - LP: T. Matzek 3 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: J. Baker 4
NY Yankees - WP: B. McCarthy 12 FINAL
Texas - LP: N. Martinez 11
Minnesota - WP: K. Gibson 2 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: J. Shields 1
Oakland - WP: E. Scribner 7 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 4
Atlanta - LP: A. Varvaro 4 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: B. League 8
St. Louis - LP: L. Lynn 1 FINAL
San Diego - WP: T. Ross 3
Pittsburgh - WP: F. Liriano 3 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: T. Hudson 1
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/7/14 7:30 PM
Connecticut 80 FINAL
Atlanta 89
Washington 76 FINAL
New York 80
Chicago 74 FINAL
San Antonio 92
Seattle 74 FINAL
Tulsa 80
Los Angeles 69 FINAL
Phoenix 90





question of the day

Poll: Should the Twins replace Ron Gardenhire?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters