Nominations for preservation awards open

  • Blog Post by: Janet Moore
  • March 5, 2014 - 1:54 PM

It's time to recognize your favorite project, individual or organization that has celebrated Minneapolis' heritage and historic character.

Preserve Minneapolis, the Minneapolis Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and the city's Heritage Preservation Commission are seeking submissions for award nominations. Projects will be judged "on their careful attention to the quality of design, architecture, workmanship, and materials, as well as their positive impact on surrounding neighborhoods and community."

The selection team will consist of two members from each group.

Nominations are due by 4 p.m. April 4, and can be delivered to: AIA Minnesota, Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Awards, 275 Market St., Suite 54, Minneapolis, MN, 55405.

Last year's winners include: the Washburn Crosby Elevator No. 1, Basilica of St. Mary's Sacristy and Narthex restoration; 430 Oak Grove Apartments, the Copham Apartments and ElseWarehouse Apartments, the Minneapolis Grain Exchange Trading Floor (CoCo Minneapolis), in the Historic Restoration, Rehabilitation, or Adaptive Reuse category; Cedar Square West (Riverside Plaza) for the Recent Past award; Museum in the Streets – Lake Street for the Community Education and Advocacy award; the Hollywood Theater and Peavey Plaza for the Good Luck and Good Fortune award; and the late Chester Rog won the Steve Murray Award.

The awards will be presented at the 24th Annual Minneapolis Preservation Awards luncheon at International Market Square on Thursday, May 15. The ceremony is open to the public.

More information here.

© 2018 Star Tribune