Koivu, Granlund on Team Finland; Brodin off Sweden's team

  • Blog Post by:
  • January 7, 2014 - 12:04 PM

If Mikko Koivu can play in next month's Olympics, he will almost certainly captain Finland in Sochi, Russia. The captaincy was between Mikko Koivu and older brother Saku Koivu, and Koivu declined Finland's invitation to partake in the Olympics in order to rest up the stretch run of this season for Anaheim.

GM Chuck Fletcher said yesterday he expects Koivu will be back in the Wild's lineup by early February.

Koivu underwent surgery on his right ankle yesterday to accelerate the recovery of a broken ankle by a month. Here's that story.

Mikael Granlund, one of the heroes during Finland's gold-medal run in the world championships a few years back, has also made Finland's team.

However, 20-year-old Wild defenseman Jonas Brodin was left off Sweden's roster. As I said on Fox Sports North's pregame show Saturday, I thought it would be tough for Brodin to crack the top-7 because Sweden is so deep. Brodin, who is tied for seventh among NHL defensemen with seven goals and 22nd among NHL defensemen in ice time (24:29), reportedly will be the first alternate in case of injury.

The blue line includes Erik Karlsson, Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Alex Edler, Niklas Kronwall, Jonathan Ericsson, Johnny Oduya, Niklas Hjalmarsson and Henrik Tallinder

The Tallinder selection is the lone confusing one. Snubs for Sweden on D besides Brodin include Victor Hedman, Tobias Enstrom and Hampus Lindholm.

Here is Team Finland

Here is Team Sweden

Yesterday, Nino Niederreiter made Team Switzerland. Here is that team.

Again, here's the United States, which include Zach Parise and Ryan Suter. This gives the Wild five participants in Sochi unless Brodin gets an invite at a later date.

Here's Team Canada

Anaheim Ducks (7): F Ryan Getzlaf and F Corey Perry (Canada); D Sami Vatanen and F Teemu Selanne (Finland); F Jakob Silfverberg (Sweden); G Jonas Hiller (Switzerland); D Cam Fowler (United States).
Boston Bruins (5): F Patrice Bergeron (Canada); F David Krejci (Czech Republic); G Tuukka Rask (Finland); D Zdeno Chara (Slovakia); F Loui Eriksson (Sweden).
Buffalo Sabres (4): F Zemgus Girgensons (Latvia); G Jhonas Enroth and D Henrik Tallinder (Sweden); G Ryan Miller (United States).
Calgary Flames (2): D Ladislav Smid (Czech Republic); G Reto Berra (Switzerland).
Carolina Hurricanes (3): F Tuomo Ruutu (Finland); D Andrej Sekera (Slovakia); D Justin Faulk (United States).
Chicago Blackhawks (10): D Duncan Keith, F Jonathan Toews and F Patrick Sharp (Canada); D Michal Rozsival (Czech Republic); F Michal Handzus and F Marian Hossa (Slovakia); D Niklas Hjalmarsson, D Johnny Oduya and F Marcus Kruger (Sweden); F Patrick Kane (United States).
Colorado Avalanche (4): F Matt Duchene (Canada); G Semyon Varlamov (Russia); F Gabriel Landeskog (Sweden); F Paul Stastny (United States).
Columbus Blue Jackets (5): G Sergei Bobrovsky, D Nikita Nikitin, D Fedor Tyutin and F Artem Anisimov (Russia); F Marian Gaborik (Slovakia).
Dallas Stars (3): F Jamie Benn (Canada); G Kari Lehtonen (Finland); F Valeri Nichushkin (Russia).
Detroit Red Wings (10): F Pavel Datsyuk (Russia); F Tomas Jurco and F Tomas Tatar (Slovakia); G Jonas Gustavsson, D Jonathan Ericsson, D Niklas Kronwall, F Daniel Alfredsson, F Johan Franzen and F Henrik Zetterberg (Sweden); G Jimmy Howard (United States).
Edmonton Oilers (3): F Ales Hemsky (Czech Republic); D Anton Belov (Russia); D Martin Marincin (Slovakia).
Florida Panthers (2): F Aleksander Barkov (Finland); F Tomas Kopecky (Slovakia).
Los Angeles Kings (6): D Drew Doughty and F Jeff Carter (Canada); D Slava Voynov (Russia); F Anze Kopitar (Slovenia); G Jonathan Quick and F Dustin Brown (United States).
Minnesota Wild (5): F Mikael Granlund and F Mikko Koivu (Finland); F Nino Niederreiter (Switzerland); D Ryan Suter and F Zach Parise (United States).
Montreal Canadiens (8): G Carey Price and D P.K. Subban (Canada); F Tomas Plekanec (Czech Republic); D Andrei Markov and D Alexei Emelin (Russia); G Peter Budaj (Slovakia); D Rafael Diaz (Switzerland); F Max Pacioretty (United States).
Nashville Predators (2): D Shea Weber (Canada); D Roman Josi (Switzerland).
New Jersey Devils (3): F Patrik Elias and F Jaromir Jagr (Czech Republic); F Damien Brunner (Switzerland).
New York Islanders (4): F Michael Grabner and F Thomas Vanek (Austria); F John Tavares (Canada); D Lubomir Visnovsky (Slovakia).
New York Rangers (7): F Rick Nash (Canada); F Mats Zuccarello (Norway); G Henrik Lundqvist and F Carl Hagelin (Sweden); D Ryan McDonagh, F Ryan Callahan and F Derek Stepan (United States).
Ottawa Senators (2): F Milan Michalek (Czech Republic); D Erik Karlsson (Sweden).
Philadelphia Flyers (5): F Michael Raffl (Austria); F Jake Voracek (Czech Republic); D Kimmo Timonen (Finland); D Andrej Meszaros (Slovakia); D Mark Streit (Switzerland).
Phoenix Coyotes (5): G Mike Smith (Canada); D Zbynek Michalek and F Martin Hanzal (Czech Republic); F Lauri Korpikoski (Finland); D Oliver Ekman-Larsson (Sweden).
Pittsburgh Penguins (7): F Sidney Crosby and F Chris Kunitz (Canada); D Olli Maatta and F Jussi Jokinen (Finland); F Evgeni Malkin (Russia); D Paul Martin and D Brooks Orpik (United States).
San Jose Sharks (4): D Marc-Edouard Vlasic and F Patrick Marleau (Canada); G Antti Niemi (Finland); F Joe Pavelski (United States).
St. Louis Blues (10): D Jay Bouwmeester and D Alex Pietrangelo (Canada); F Vladimir Sobotka (Czech Republic); F Vladimir Tarasenko (Russia); G Jaroslav Halak (Slovakia); F Patrik Berglund and F Alexander Steen (Sweden); D Kevin Shattenkirk, F David Backes and F T.J. Oshie (United States).
Tampa Bay Lightning (6): F Steven Stamkos (Canada); D Radko Gudas and F Ondrej Palat (Czech Republic); D Sami Salo and F Valtteri Filppula (Finland); F Richard Panik (Slovakia).
Toronto Maple Leafs (3): F Nikolai Kulemin (Russia); F Phil Kessel and F James van Riemsdyk (United States).
Vancouver Canucks (7): G Roberto Luongo and D Dan Hamhuis (Canada); D Alexander Edler, F Daniel Sedin and F Henrik Sedin (Sweden); D Yannick Weber (Switzerland); F Ryan Kesler (United States).
Washington Capitals (3): F Alex Ovechkin (Russia); F Nicklas Backstrom (Sweden); D John Carlson (United States).
Winnipeg Jets (4): G Ondrej Pavelec and F Michael Frolik (Czech Republic); F Olli Jokinen (Finland); F Blake Wheeler (United States).

© 2018 Star Tribune