Interactive: Mass transit options in Twin Cities

  • Graphic by: RAYMOND GRUMNEY
  • Updated: September 22, 2014 - 5:57 PM

Existing transit lines in the Metro-area include the Blue Line (Hiawatha) Light Rail, Northstar commuter rail, Red Line (Cedar Ave BRT) and the Green Line (Central Corridor).
The Green Line (Central Corridor) links five major centers of activity in the Twin Cities region - downtown Minneapolis, the University of Minnesota, the Midway area, the state Capitol complex and downtown St. Paul.
The Green Line Extension (Southwest LRT) would run along a 15-mile route between Eden Prairie and downtown Minneapolis, passing through Minnetonka, Hopkins and St. Louis Park.
Other planned projects include the Red Line phase II (Cedar Ave BRT), Orange Line (I-35W BRT) and the Blue Line Extension (Bottineau Corridor)

Metropolitan Council, MetroGIS