Walker declares state of emergency in 7 counties due to flooding

  • Updated: June 26, 2013 - 7:37 PM

MADISON, Wis. — Gov. Scott Walker has declared a state of emergency in seven southwestern Wisconsin counties due to flooding.

Walker issued the emergency declaration on Wednesday for Ashland, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Richland, St. Croix, and Vernon counties. The declaration came after Walker toured flood-damaged areas near Boscobel.

Walker says he has also directed the Wisconsin National Guard, and other state agencies, to assist as necessary.

Walker says the state will work with communities to make emergency assistance funds available to eligible homeowners for rehabilitation and connect farmers with crop and livestock damage with assistance.

The governor says the Department of Natural Resources is also available to help residents and local governments concerned about well contamination.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters


Golden Gavel by Star Tribune

Countdown to great deals

Bid Sept. 21-29





question of the day

Poll: Do you support Wednesday's decision to sideline Adrian Peterson again?

Weekly Question