Ohio State is the preseason pick to win the Big Ten football championship in 2018 – but by only one vote Wisconsin.

In a preseason poll of 28 sportswriters around the Big Ten conducted by cleveland.com, Ohio State received 14 votes to win the title, with Wisconsin just behind at 13. Michigan State received the other first-place vote. In last year’s Big Ten title game, the Buckeyes beat the Badgers 27-21.

The poll of sportswriters is in its eighth season after the Big Ten stopped using its own vote of media members. Instead, the conference will release a list of players to watch during Big Ten media days on Monday and Tuesday in Chicago.

Sportswriters also predicted the order of finish in the East and West divisions, with Ohio State and Wisconsin advancing to the Big Ten title game. Writers predicted that the Gophers will finish sixth in the West.

Penn State quarterback Trace McSorley edged Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor for Big Ten Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, while Ohio State defensive end Nick Bosa was an overwhelming choice for Preseason Defensive Player of the Year.

Here are results of the poll, with a first-place vote in the conference standing predictions counting for seven points and a seventh-place vote counting for one point:

Big Ten East

1. Ohio State, 191.5 points (23.5 first-place votes)

2. Michigan State, 142 points (2)

3. Penn State, 141.5 points (1)

4. Michigan, 140.5 points (1.5)

5. Maryland, 75.5 points

6. Indiana, 60 points

7. Rutgers, 33 points

Big Ten West

1. Wisconsin, 196 points (28 first-place votes)

2. Iowa, 155 points

3. Northwestern, 138 points

4. Nebraska, 104 points

5. Purdue, 98.5 points

6. Minnesota, 64.5 points

7. Illinois, 28 points

Big Ten Championship Game predictions

Ohio State over Wisconsin (14 votes)

Wisconsin over Ohio State (9)

Wisconsin over Michigan (2)

Wisconsin over Penn State (1)

Wisconsin over Michigan State (1)

Michigan State over Wisconsin (1)

Big Ten teams advancing to the College Football Playoff

Ohio State (13)

Wisconsin (12)

Both Ohio State and Wisconsin (2)

Michigan State (1)

Preseason Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year

1. Trace McSorley, Penn State QB, 66 points, (14 first-place votes)

2. Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin RB, 61 points, (11)

3. JK Dobbins, Ohio State RB, 28 points, (2)

4. Brian Lewerke, Michigan State QB, 7 points, (1)

5. Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State QB, 3 points

6. Noah Fant, Iowa TE, 2 points

7. Shea Patterson, Michigan QB, 1 point

Preseason Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year

1. Nick Bosa, Ohio State DE, 74 points, (20 first-place votes)

2. Rashan Gary, Michigan DE, 38 points, (6)

3. T.J. Edwards, Wisconsin LB, 24 points

4. Devin Bush, Michigan LB, 14 points (1)

5. Paddy Fisher, Northwestern LB, 8 points (1)

6. Joe Bachie, Michigan State LB, 5 points

7. Chase Winovich, Michigan DE, 2 points

8. D'Cota Dixon, Wisconsin S, 1 point

8. Olive Sagapolu, Wisconsin DT, 1 points

8. Khaleke Hudson, Michigan LB, 1 point