Bye Dietz, Sauer among U.S. Hockey Hall inductees

  • Article by: RACHEL BLOUNT , Star Tribune
  • Updated: August 6, 2014 - 10:49 PM

USA Hockey announced that Karyn Bye Dietz, Jeff Sauer, Brian Rafalski and Lou Vairo will be inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame. Their contributions to the game will be celebrated at a Dec. 4 enshrinement ceremony in the Twin Cities.

Karyn Bye celebrated the USA's gold medal win over Canada in women's hockey in 1998. Now Karyn Bye Dietz, she will be inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in December. Date Input: September 14, 2006 Byline: BRIAN PETERSON

Photo: Brian Peterson, Star Tribune file

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Their paths crossed in varied ways, with hockey as their common medium. Jeff Sauer coached Brian Rafalski and was mentored by Lou Vairo. Karyn Bye Dietz played for the U.S. women’s team at the 2002 Winter Olympics, winning a silver medal — just as Rafalski did with an American men’s team that counted Vairo among its assistant coaches.

The four were united again Wednesday, when USA Hockey announced they would be inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame. Their contributions to the game will be celebrated at a Dec. 4 enshrinement ceremony in the Twin Cities.

Sauer, Bye Dietz, Rafalski and Vairo represent their sport’s growing diversity as well as its traditions. Bye Dietz was on the 1998 U.S. team that won the first Olympic gold medal in women’s hockey and is the third woman elected to the American Hall of Fame as an individual. Sauer, a St. Paul native and longtime coach at Wisconsin and Colorado College, now coaches hearing-impaired and physically disabled athletes at the highest levels.

Rafalski played 11 seasons in the NHL and on three Olympic teams, while Vairo worked with Herb Brooks as a scout for the 1980 Olympic team and assistant coach at the 2002 Winter Games. Though each followed a unique path to the Hall, which is headquartered in Eveleth, all of them shared the same emotions Wednesday.

“My dad said I never had a real job,’’ said Sauer, who coached 11 seasons at Colorado College before a two-decade run at Wisconsin. “To this day, I really have never had a real job. I’ve always enjoyed going to work and being a part of hockey. This is a humbling experience for me.’’

The 1998 women’s Olympic team was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2009. Captain Cammi Granato, enshrined in 2008, became the first individual woman honored by the Hall; Cindy Curley, a star before women’s hockey joined the Olympics, followed in 2013.

Bye Dietz, an alternate captain for the 1998 Olympic team, led the U.S. with five goals in six games as it won the gold medal in Nagano, Japan. By 2002, when she played in her final Olympics, she had helped spark a women’s hockey revolution.

“It’s incredible how far women’s ice hockey has come,’’ said Bye Dietz, a native of River Falls, Wis., who now lives in Hudson. “It’s been fun to see the growth. Never in my wildest dreams would I predict I’d be sitting here right now being inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame.’’

Vairo didn’t play organized hockey while growing up in Brooklyn, N.Y. He recalled skating on a makeshift rink, created by a priest who flooded a schoolyard and hung a string of light bulbs. In 1976, Vairo coached the Austin (Minn.) Mavericks of the U.S. Hockey League to a national championship, and his long career behind the bench included stints as an NHL assistant, with junior and senior national teams and as head coach of the 1984 Olympic team.

Rafalski, a defenseman, played for Sauer at Wisconsin. After being told he was too small to withstand the physical grind of the NHL, he won two Stanley Cups with New Jersey and one with Detroit while amassing 515 points in 11 NHL seasons.

Sauer won two NCAA titles at Wisconsin before beginning his work with disabled athletes. He coached the U.S. to a gold medal at the 2007 Deaflympics, and in what he called the highlight of his career, he led the U.S. sled hockey team to the gold medal at the 2014 Paralympics.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 7 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: J. Shields 1
San Diego 10/23/14 7:25 PM
Detroit 10/26/14 8:30 AM
Buffalo 10/26/14 12:00 PM
NY Jets
St. Louis 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
Houston 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Minnesota 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Seattle 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Baltimore 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Miami 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 10/26/14 12:00 PM
New England
Philadelphia 10/26/14 3:05 PM
Oakland 10/26/14 3:25 PM
Indianapolis 10/26/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay 10/26/14 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Washington 10/27/14 7:30 PM
Houston 85 FINAL
Miami 90
Indiana 89 FINAL
Minnesota 107
Utah 105 FINAL
Oklahoma City 91
Portland 93 FINAL
Denver 75
Phoenix 114 FINAL
LA Lakers 108
LA Clippers 107 FINAL
Golden State 125
San Jose 3 FINAL
Boston 5
NY Rangers 4 FINAL(OT)
New Jersey 3
Toronto 5 FINAL
NY Islanders 2
Detroit 1 FINAL(OT)
Montreal 2
Arizona 3 FINAL(SO)
Nashville 4
Carolina 1 FINAL
Winnipeg 3
Philadelphia 0 FINAL
Chicago 4
Vancouver 3 FINAL
Dallas 6
Florida 4 FINAL(OT)
Colorado 3
Tampa Bay 2 FINAL(OT)
Calgary 1
Arkansas State 40 FINAL
Louisiana 55
Connecticut 10/23/14 6:00 PM
(18) East Carolina
Miami-Florida 10/23/14 7:00 PM
Virginia Tech
So Florida 10/24/14 6:00 PM
Troy 10/24/14 6:30 PM
South Alabama
BYU 10/24/14 8:00 PM
Boise State
(6) Oregon 10/24/14 9:00 PM
North Texas 10/25/14 11:00 AM
UAB 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Rutgers 10/25/14 11:00 AM
(16) Nebraska
Maryland 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Texas 10/25/14 11:00 AM
(11) Kansas State
Minnesota 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Memphis 10/25/14 11:00 AM
North Carolina 10/25/14 11:30 AM
San Jose St 10/25/14 12:00 PM
Northern Ill 10/25/14 12:00 PM
Eastern Mich
(25) UCLA 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Akron 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Ball State
Massachusetts 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Ohio U 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Western Mich
Ga Southern 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Georgia State
Kent State 10/25/14 1:30 PM
Oregon State 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Fla Atlantic 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(23) Marshall
Louisiana Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Southern Miss
(1) Miss State 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Georgia Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(22) West Virginia 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Oklahoma State
Texas Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(10) TCU
Michigan 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(8) Michigan State
Boston College 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Wake Forest
Central Mich 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Vanderbilt 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Old Dominion 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Western Ky
UNLV 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Utah State
Temple 10/25/14 4:00 PM
(15) Arizona 10/25/14 5:00 PM
Washington St
Texas-El Paso 10/25/14 6:00 PM
TX-San Antonio
Wyoming 10/25/14 6:00 PM
Colorado State
Syracuse 10/25/14 6:00 PM
(21) Clemson
Texas State 10/25/14 6:00 PM
(3) Ole Miss 10/25/14 6:15 PM
(24) LSU
(4) Alabama 10/25/14 6:30 PM
So Carolina 10/25/14 6:30 PM
(5) Auburn
(13) Ohio State 10/25/14 7:00 PM
Penn State
(20) USC 10/25/14 9:00 PM
(19) Utah
(14) Arizona State 10/25/14 9:45 PM
Nevada 10/25/14 10:59 PM
Montreal 10/24/14 5:30 PM
Saskatchewan 10/24/14 8:30 PM
Hamilton 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Brt Columbia 10/25/14 6:00 PM
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who is your favorite Wild player?

Weekly Question