Matt Vensel is in his first year at the Star Tribune after covering the Ravens for the Baltimore Sun for six years. He is a Pittsburgh native and a Penn State grad. Follow him at @mattvensel.

Mark Craig has covered the NFL for 23 years, and the Vikings since 2003 for the Star Tribune. He is one of 44 Pro Football Hall of Fame selectors. Follow him at @markcraignfl.

Master Tesfatsion is the Star Tribune’s digital Vikings writer. He is a 2013 graduate of Arizona State and worked for before arriving in Minneapolis. Follow him at @masterstrib.

Peterson is only Viking selected to Pro Bowl

Posted by: under Vikings, NFC, Super Bowl, Adrian Peterson, Antoine Winfield, Brett Favre, Bryant McKinnie, Heath Farwell, Jared Allen, Kevin Williams, Percy Harvin, Sidney Rice, Steve Hutchinson Updated: December 28, 2010 - 6:04 PM

PHILADELPHIA -- Running back Adrian Peterson will be the Vikings' lone Pro Bowl representative after the team led the NFL in selections last season.

The announcement was made this evening on the NFL Network.

The Vikings had 10 players selected to the Pro Bowl last year during a 12-4 season that ended with an overtime loss to New Orleans in the NFC title game.

The Vikings carry a 5-9 record into tonight's game against the Eagles. The Vikings haven't had only one player picked to the Pro Bowl since 1985 when Joey Browner was selected for his work on special teams.

The voting, which involves players, coaches an fans, means that perennial Pro Bowl picks such as defensive end Jared Allen (three selections), defensive tackle Kevin Williams (four) and guard Steve Hutchinson (seven) did not make it.

Peterson returned on Tuesday after missing last week's game because of a bruised thigh and knee suffered on Dec. 13 against the New York Giants. Peterson entered Tuesday having rushed for 1,149 on 247 carries (4.7 average) with 11 touchdowns. It marks the third consecutive season that Peterson has gone over the 1,000-yard rushing mark.

The Vikings list of Pro Bowl players last season included Allen; linebacker Heath Farwell; quarterback Brett Favre; wide receiver/kick returner Percy Harvin; Hutchinson; left tackle Bryant McKinnie; Peterson; wide receiver Sidney Rice; defensive tackle Kevin Williams; and cornerback Antoine Winfield.

This season's Pro Bowl once again will be played on Jan. 30, a week before the Super Bowl. The game was held in Miami last season -- that city hosted the Super Bowl -- but this season will return to Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.




Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters