Funny Car champ excels at BIR

  • Updated: August 18, 2013 - 12:03 AM

Defending champion Jack Beckman is the top qualifier for the second consecutive time.


In this photo provided by NHRA, Funny Car driver Jack Beckman goes down the track during qualifying on Saturda in his new Don Schumacher Hall of Fame Tribute Dodge Charger at the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals drag races at Brainerd International Raceway.

Photo: Marc Gewertz, Associated Press

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

– Defending Funny Car champion Jack Beckman raced to his second consecutive No. 1 qualifying position Saturday at Brainerd International Raceway during the final day of qualifying for the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals.

Clay Millican (Top Fuel) and Vincent Nobile (Pro Stock) will also lead their categories when eliminations begin Sunday.

Beckman had a pass of 4.038 seconds at 313.37 miles per hour. He has two career runner-up finishes at the track but has yet to win there and is also looking for his first victory this season. He will race Bob Bode in the first round of eliminations Sunday.

“We’ve got a brand-new car that only has four runs on it, and two of them were low E.T. [elapsed time] of the session,” Beckman said. “There is no guarantee [of success] when you qualify No. 1. Theoretically, you stack the odds a little bit in your favor. Other than that, it is just bragging rights.”


  • related content

  • Chart: Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals

    Sunday August 18, 2013

    LUCAS OIL NHRA NATIONALSWhere: Brainerd International RacewaySunday’s schedule: Prerace ceremonies begin at 10 a.m. Final eliminations begin at 11 a.m.Gates...

  • Chart: Lucas Oil Nationals pairings

    Sunday August 18, 2013

    Top Fuel1. Clay Millican, 3.773 seconds, 326.63 mph vs. 16. Terry McMillen, 3.921, 321.882. Spencer Massey, 3.792, 324.05...

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Miami - LP: B. Morris 4 FINAL
Washington - WP: M. Grace 6
NY Yankees - LP: C. Martin 1 FINAL
Toronto - WP: R. Dickey 3
Philadelphia - WP: A. Harang 5 FINAL
Atlanta - LP: A. Wood 2
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 5 FINAL
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 1
Los Angeles - LP: C. Hatcher 3 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: M. Blazek 4
Chicago Cubs - LP: P. Strop 9 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: M. Socolovich 10
Oakland - LP: J. Hahn 7 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 8
Texas - WP: K. Kela 2 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 1
Arizona 0 Postponed
Colorado 0
Seattle 3 Top 8th Inning
LA Angels 1
San Diego 0 Top 7th Inning
San Francisco 2
Chicago 99 FINAL
Cleveland 92
LA Clippers 103 4th Qtr 2:53
Houston 93
NY Rangers 0 FINAL
Washington 1
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters