Previous Page 2 of 8 Next

Continued: A capsule look at the British Open golf championships at Muirfield

  • Article by: DOUG FERGUSON , AP Golf Writer
  • Last update: July 12, 2013 - 11:05 PM

NOTEWORTHY: In the last 21 years, no one has scored lower than Faldo's 130 through 36 holes in any major.


YEAR: 1987

WINNER: Nick Faldo

SCORE: 279.

RUNNER-UP: Paul Azinger.

MARGIN: 1 shot.

EARNINGS: 75,000 pounds.

RECAP: Nick Faldo spent two years overhauling his swing with David Leadbetter, and it paid off with his first major championship at Muirfield. But like most of his six majors, he needed some help. In wind so strong that four of the holes were shortened in the third round to allow players to reach the fairway, Azinger had a 71 and took the lead by one shot going into the last day. Faldo plodded his way around Muirfield with 18 pars for a 71. Azinger had a one-shot lead when he took bogey on the 17th, and then found a bunker and closed with another bogey for a 73 to finish one shot behind.

NOTEWORTHY: David Feherty had a 67 for the low round of the weekend. He tied for 26th.


YEAR: 1980

WINNER: Tom Watson

SCORE: 271.

RUNNER-UP: Lee Trevino.

MARGIN: 4 shots.

EARNINGS: 25,000 pounds.

RECAP: Tom Watson made it three claret jugs in six years, all on different links in Scotland. Lee Trevino made a gallant bid at winning again at Muirfield by opening with rounds of 68-67 for a three-shot lead. Watson, however, pulled away with a 64 in the third round to go four shots clear of Trevino, and there was little drama in the final round. Watson closed with a 69, matching the low score on Sunday, for a four-shot win.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Atlanta 3 Top 7th Inning
Chicago Cubs 4
Washington - J. Zimmermann 6:05 PM
Philadelphia - A. Burnett
Chicago WSox - H. Noesi 6:05 PM
Cleveland - C. Kluber
NY Yankees - H. Kuroda 6:05 PM
Baltimore - M. Gonzalez
Pittsburgh - J. Locke 6:10 PM
Cincinnati - M. Latos
Miami - H. Alvarez 6:10 PM
NY Mets - Z. Wheeler
Toronto - M. Buehrle 6:10 PM
Tampa Bay - C. Archer
LA Angels - G. Richards 7:05 PM
Texas - N. Tepesch
St. Louis - J. Kelly 7:10 PM
Milwaukee - Y. Gallardo
Boston - J. Lackey 7:10 PM
Houston - S. Feldman
Detroit - A. Sanchez 7:10 PM
Kansas City - D. Duffy
Minnesota - K. Johnson 7:40 PM
Colorado - J. De La Rosa
San Diego - J. Hahn 9:10 PM
Los Angeles - D. Haren
Oakland - J. Samardzija 9:10 PM
Seattle - F. Hernandez
Arizona - M. Bolsinger 9:15 PM
San Francisco - T. Lincecum
D.C. 10:00 PM
San Jose
Winnipeg 6:00 PM
Ottawa 9:00 PM
Calgary 7/12/14 5:30 PM
Brt Columbia 7/12/14 8:30 PM
Edmonton 7/17/14 7:30 PM
Toronto 7/18/14 6:00 PM
Hamilton 7/18/14 9:00 PM
Montreal 7/19/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Los Angeles 6:30 PM
New York
Seattle 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Phoenix 7:30 PM
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters