Joe Christensen covered Major League Baseball for 15 years, including three seasons at the Baltimore Sun and eight at the Star Tribune, before switching to the college football beat. He’s a Faribault, Minn., native who graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1996. He covered Jim Wacker’s Gophers for the Minnesota Daily and also wrote about USC, UCLA and the Rose Bowl for the Riverside Press-Enterprise before getting this chance to cover football again.

Email Joe to talk about the Gophers.

Gophers announce updates to future nonconference schedules

Posted by: Updated: September 3, 2009 - 12:54 PM

Gophers football team now has complete non-conference schedules set for the 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2017 seasons thanks to a number of updates announced Thursday.

One highlight? An agreement for a home-and-home series with North Carolina in 2013 and 2014 which will mean the Gophers will face at least one team from a Bowl Championship Series conference each year through at least 2014. In 2010 the Gophers will open the season at Middle Tennessee State on Sept. 2, a Thursday.

The other open date in that schedule was filled with a home game against Northern Illinois. In 2011 Minnesota announced a home game with New Mexico State on Sept. 10 that fills that nonconference slate. One addition was made to the 2012 schedule. The Gophers will host New Hampshire on Sept. 15. The Gophers will travel to North Carolina for a game on Sept. 7, 2013. North Caroline will return on Sept. 13, 2014.

Previous announced series with Oregon State and Colorado have been moved in this latest round of schedule announcements. Here are the other games that have been added or changed on future Gophers schedules: Sept. 12, 2015 – at Colorado State; Sept. 3, 2016 – vs. New Mexico State; Sept. 24, 2016 – vs. Colorado State; Sept. 9, 2017 – vs. Oregon State; Sept. 16, 2017 – vs. Middle Tennessee State; Sept. 8, 2018 – at Oregon State; Sept. 18, 2021 – at Colorado; Sept. 17, 2022 – vs. Colorado.

Here are the Gophers’ non-conference football schedules for five seasons starting in 2010:


Sept. 2 – at Middle Tennessee State

Sept. 11 – South Dakota

Sept. 18 – Southern California

Sept. 25 – Northern Illinois



Sept. 3 – at Southern California

Sept. 10 – New Mexico State

Sept. 17 -- Miami (Ohio)

Sept. 24 – North Dakota State



Sept. 1 – at UNLV

Sept. 8 – TBA

Sept. 15 – New Hampshire

Sept. 22 – Syracuse



Aug. 31 – UNLV

Sept. 7 – at North Carolina

Sept. 14 – Western Illinois

Sept. 21 – San Jose State



Aug. 30 – Eastern Illinois

Sept. 6 – at Miami (Ohio)

Sept. 13 – North Carolina

Sept. 20 – San Jose State


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters