This is Amelia Rayno's third season on the Gophers men's basketball beat. She learned college basketball in North Carolina (Go Tar Heels!), where fanhood is not an option. In 2010, she joined the Star Tribune after graduating from Boston's Emerson College, which sadly had no exciting D-I college hoops to latch onto. Amelia has also worked on the sports desk at the Boston Globe and interned at the Detroit News.

  Follow Rayno on Twitter @AmeliaRayno

Reports: Big Ten basketball tournament shifts to D.C. in 2017

Posted by: Amelia Rayno under College basketball, Gophers coaches, Gophers players Updated: May 5, 2014 - 7:12 PM

The look of the Big Ten is quickly changing -- and its traditions appear to be shifting in correspondence.

The conference announced today that a press conference will be held at Verizon Center in Washington, D.C, tomorrow. According to multiple national news outlets, the league is expected to announce that the Big Ten tournament will move to D.C for at least one season, in 2017. 

The postseason conference tournament, which began in 1998, has only been held in Chicago or Indianapolis since its instigation. 

Maryland, a founding member of the ACC, will join the Big Ten this coming season, along with Rutgers, to give the league 14 members. Previously, Penn State was the Eastern-most school in the league.

Commissioner Jim Delany has been very public about his efforts to expand the conference's exposure Eastward and develop roots there.

"We don't just want to visit here, we want to live here," Delany told Sports Illustrated. "This was our first opportunity to do that. We think it's a wonderful opportunity for not just Maryland, but for expatriate Big Ten fans living on the East Coast to see great basketball in March."

The next two Big Ten tournaments will be played at the United Center in Chicago and Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, respectively.

Earlier today, the Big Ten officially announced a new annual series against the Big East, dubbed the Gavitt Tipoff, after Big East founder Dave Gavitt. The new challenge take place during the first full week of the regular season and will include eight games between the two power conferences for at least the next eight seasons.


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters