Joe Christensen covered Major League Baseball for 15 years, including three seasons at the Baltimore Sun and eight at the Star Tribune, before switching to the college football beat. He’s a Faribault, Minn., native who graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1996. He covered Jim Wacker’s Gophers for the Minnesota Daily and also wrote about USC, UCLA and the Rose Bowl for the Riverside Press-Enterprise before getting this chance to cover football again.

Email Joe to talk about the Gophers.

Hageman named Gophers MVP; Cobb named team's Offensive Player of the Year

Posted by: Joe Christensen under Gophers awards and honors Updated: December 8, 2013 - 2:31 PM

While waiting today’s bowl announcement, the Gophers held their annual team banquet and announced this year’s awards winners. Here’s a list, as compiled from Tweets from the @GopherFootball account:

Bronko Nagurski Award (MVP): Ra’Shede Hageman

Bruce Smith Award (outstanding offensive player): David Cobb

Carl Eller Award (outstanding defensive player): Ra'Shede Hageman

Bobby Bell Award (outstanding special teams player): Peter Mortell

Outstanding Offensive Freshmen of the Year: Donovahn Jones and Maxx Williams

Outstanding Defensive Freshman of the Year: Hank Ekpe

Wide Receiver of the Year: Derrick Engel

Offensive Back of the Year: David Cobb

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Zac Epping

Defensive Back of the Year: Brock Vereen

Linebacker of the Year: Aaron Hill

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Ra’Shede Hageman

Gary Tinsley Award (underdog): David Cobb

Neil Fredenburg Award (courage and love of the game): Aaron Hill

Butch Nash Award (competitive on field and in classroom): Jon Christenson

Paul Giel Award (honoring unselfishness, concern for the 'U'): Brock Vereen and Aaron Hill

Tony Dungy Character/Community Service Award: Chris Hawthorne

Work-Team Players of the Year: Jephte Matilus and Chris Wipson


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters