Roman Augustoviz spends Minnesota's winters covering college hockey, specifically the Gophers, and other University of Minnesota sports. During the summer, he writes about the WNBA's Minnesota Lynx, with a dose of U sports sprinkled in. Follow him on Twitter @RomanStrib.

E-mail Roman

Bjugstad, Kristo on U.S. team for World Championships next month

Posted by: Roman Augustoviz under Men's hockey Updated: April 25, 2013 - 2:20 PM

Four Minnesotans who played for four different WCHA teams in college will be on the U.S. team which will play in the IIHF World Championships May 3-19 in Helsinki and Stockholm.

Forwards Nick Bjugstad of Blaine and Danny Kristo of Eden Prairie, who played for the Gophers and North Dakota, respectively, will be teammates on the U.S. team.

Two of the defensemen are Justin Faulk of South St. Paul and Jamie McBain of Edina. Faulk played at UMD, McBain at Wisconsin before embarking on pro careers.

The rest of the U.S. team will be named later.

Team USA 2013 IIHF Men's World Championship Schedule
May 3-19 • Helsinki, Finland & Stockholm, Sweden
Date Opponent Location Time
Sat., May 4 Austria Helsinki 4:15 a.m.
Sun., May 5 Latvia Helsinki 12:15 p.m.
Tues., May 7 Russia Helsinki 12:15 p.m.
Wed., May 8 Finland Helsinki 12:15 p.m.
Sat., May 11 France Helsinki 4:15 a.m.
Sun., May 12 Germany Helsinki 8:15 a.m.
Tues., May 14 Slovakia Helsinki 4:15 a.m.
Thurs., May 16 Quarterfinals Helsinki 5:00 a.m.
6:30 p.m./11:30 a.m.
Sat., May 18 Semifinals Stockholm 8:00 a.m.
7:00 p.m./1:00 p.m.
Sun., May 19 Bronze-Medal Game Stockholm 9:00 a.m.
                        Gold-Medal Game Stockholm 1:30 p.m.
 

 

ADVERTISEMENT

Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT