National Lacrosse League add two games to schedule next season

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: March 16, 2013 - 12:34 AM

Swarm season ticket holder Jeremy Orpen (aka - Moe) celebrated a Swarm goal.

Photo: Marlin Levison, Star Tribune

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


The National Lacrosse League announced that its Board of Governors have voted to increase the length of the regular season from 16 to 18 games for the 2014 NLL season.

A recent survey of NLL fans found they wanted additional regular-season games. The Minnesota Swarm, which plays its home games at the Xcel Energy Center, is one of the NLL’s teams.

“[We] have taken action to meet the demands of our fans,” NLL Commissioner George Daniel said. “We look forward to providing more of the games that our fans love to watch while creating more opportunities for new fans to come and enjoy the NLL experience and the world’s greatest lacrosse players”.

Auggies in 9th on mat

Seven of the eight wrestlers for Augsburg in the NCAA Division III tournament in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, lost their first match Friday, but by the second session the Aggies were in ninth place with 22.5 points and had three wrestlers assured of being all-americans.

Chad Johnson, the defending heavyweight champion, was the lone winner in the first round. He won a on fall at 4 minutes, 25 seconds and later won 10-3 in the quarterfinals. Teammates Mike Fuenffinger and Matt Hechsel both won twice in the wrestlebacks to advance to the final eight.


• The Gophers’ softball team (14-9) beat host Florida State 3-2 in its first game of the Sunshine Classic in Tallahassee. Second baseman Kaitlyn Richardson went 3-for-3 and had three RBI. She had a two-run homer in the sixth innings. The Seminoles (20-9) had a 10-game winning streak ended.

• The Gustavus women’s hockey team lost 4-3 in overtime to Elmira College in the NCAA Divison III women’s hockey semifinals in Superior, Wis.

• The Minnesota men’s track and field team competed in its first outdoor meet Friday in Tempe, Ariz.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Houston - LP: D. Keuchel 0 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: B. McCarthy 3
Cleveland - LP: C. Kluber 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 4
Detroit - LP: D. Price 0 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Cobb 1
Arizona - LP: O. Perez 0 FINAL
Washington - WP: R. Soriano 1
San Francisco - LP: R. Vogelsong 1 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: T. Wada 2
Atlanta - WP: J. Teheran 8 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: D. Holmberg 0
LA Angels - WP: M. Shoemaker 2 FINAL
Boston - LP: R. De La Rosa 0
San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 5 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: T. Wood 3
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 1 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: C. Kershaw 2
Pittsburgh 21 FINAL
Philadelphia 31
Carolina 6:30 PM
New England
NY Giants 6:30 PM
NY Jets
Jacksonville 6:30 PM
Oakland 7:00 PM
Green Bay
Chicago 9:00 PM
Tampa Bay 8/23/14 3:30 PM
Tennessee 8/23/14 6:00 PM
Dallas 8/23/14 6:00 PM
Washington 8/23/14 6:30 PM
New Orleans 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Minnesota 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Kansas City
St. Louis 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Houston 8/23/14 8:00 PM
San Diego 8/24/14 3:00 PM
San Francisco
Cincinnati 8/24/14 7:00 PM
(21) Texas A&M 8/28/14 5:00 PM
(9) So Carolina
Wake Forest 8/28/14 6:00 PM
Boise State 8/28/14 7:00 PM
(18) Ole Miss
Tulane 8/28/14 7:00 PM
Temple 8/28/14 8:15 PM
Rutgers 8/28/14 9:00 PM
Washington St
Weber State 8/28/14 9:30 PM
(19) Arizona State
Montreal 7:30 PM
Toronto 8/23/14 3:00 PM
Calgary 8/24/14 2:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/24/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 8/29/14 6:30 PM
Winnipeg 8/31/14 2:00 PM
Toronto 9/1/14 12:00 PM
Edmonton 9/1/14 3:30 PM
Washington 73 FINAL
Indiana 78
San Antonio 84 FINAL
Minnesota 88





question of the day

Poll: How closely will you follow the Lynx in the WNBA playoffs?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters