DeLaSalle finds every which way to beat Cooper

  • Updated: November 3, 2012 - 12:06 AM

The Robbinsdale Cooper Hawks brought their offensive firepower to Nicollet Island on Friday night, but host DeLaSalle kept its record unblemished with a decisive 28-0 victory in the Section 6, Class 4A championship game and advanced to the state tournament.

The Islanders relied on a healthy dose of Chris Williams, who had no trouble finding holes in the Cooper defense, slamming through for an 18-yard score on the game's sixth play. Williams ran for 126 yards and was the primary chain-mover on each of the DeLaSalle scoring drives.

"The guys have put in all the work," Islanders head coach Sean McMenomy said. "They've worked their tails off. This is what happens when people sell out and really commit to a common goal."

When the Hawks blitzed linebackers, Islanders quarterback Reid Travis showed off his arm, connecting with James Lawson in the third quarter for a 28-yard scoring pass. In the second half, Travis showed off his long legs, scoring the game's final points on a 28-yard touchdown run. He had 63 yards on the ground in the second half.

"We just did what got us here," McMenomy said of his run-heavy game plan. "We just ran behind Chris and Reid, and when [Cooper] started cheating in, we went over the top."

DeLaSalle senior linebacker Aaron Warren recovered two fumbles, returning one for an 81-yard score in the first quarter, and had an interception. Warren went from being a backup quarterback to one of the team's defensive MVPs this season.

Cooper's Billy Kellogg had all kinds of success on the ground, ripping off medium gains at will. He finished the night with a game-high 177 yards, but the Hawks didn't get a sustained offensive drive going until the third quarter. Each time Cooper reached the red zone, the Islanders defense forced a turnover.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - LP: T. Bauer 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: A. Swarzak 3
Cincinnati - LP: M. Leake 1 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: K. Lohse 5
Kansas City - WP: W. Davis 2 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: Z. Putnam 1
Washington - LP: S. Strasburg 4 FINAL
Colorado - WP: J. De La Rosa 6
NY Mets - WP: B. Colon 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: T. Walker 2
Detroit - WP: A. Sanchez 11 FINAL
Arizona - LP: T. Cahill 5
Los Angeles - LP: D. Haren 1 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: F. Liriano 6
San Francisco 0 Top 9th Inning
Philadelphia 0
Texas - LP: Y. Darvish 1 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: D. Phelps 2
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 4 FINAL
Toronto - WP: R. Dickey 6
Miami - LP: N. Eovaldi 1 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: E. Santana 6
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Cobb 3 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: L. Lynn 0
San Diego 5 Bottom 7th Inning
Chicago Cubs 3
Houston 0 Bottom 2nd Inning
Oakland 1
Baltimore 1 Top 3rd Inning
LA Angels 1
Chicago 0 1st Half 44:55
San Jose 0
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Connecticut 75 FINAL
Washington 89
New York 14 1st Qtr 3:40
Los Angeles 12





question of the day

Poll: Which uniform will Kevin Love wear next season?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters