Scoggins: Any college football playoff plan is better than status quo

  • Article by: CHIP SCOGGINS , Star Tribune
  • Updated: June 5, 2012 - 12:39 PM

 College football's movers and shakers disagree on format, but a better system for naming a champion is on the way.


Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany

Photo: Paul Beaty, Associated Press file

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

College football will institute a playoff starting in 2014. That seems hardly disputable at this point, thankfully, since the sport's method for determining a champion remains an outdated and convoluted process that triggers annual hand-wringing.

How a playoff ultimately will look is stirring up lively discussion, strong viewpoints and some snide comments that could intensify as conference commissioners seek compromise on a postseason model at several high-level meetings this month.

As it stands, top conference officials differ on the format, the number of teams involved and the selection process. Their differences aired in tones that some liken to a political debate.

The Big Ten weighed in Monday following a meeting of league presidents and chancellors and announced its preferred options. The conference's leaders scribbled "status quo" at the top of their list, which is wasted energy because preserving the current bowl system is no longer an option and the Big Ten knows it.

Commissioner Jim Delany said the presidents' second choice is a plus-one model -- a matchup of the two highest-ranked teams after bowl games. Their third choice is a four-team playoff, which is the most likely scenario and a model the Big Ten appears willing to back under certain conditions.

(My preference remains an eight-team playoff, but that's too much change for a discussion that's moved at glacial speed. My hope is that a four-team playoff eventually will expand to eight in the future, but this is a good starting point.)

The main sticking point is the method used to select the four teams. The SEC is steadfast in its belief that the four highest-ranked teams should advance to the playoff, to the degree that Florida president Bernie Machen insisted the league would not compromise. That was a direct shot at conferences -- the Big Ten included -- that prefer automatic qualifiers for top-ranked league champions, even though Delany never actually drew a line in the sand on this issue.

We tend to side with the best-four model. In the most logical sense, if you're going to have a four-team playoff, shouldn't it include the best four teams? Alabama didn't win the SEC last season but held the national championship trophy on the final night, a scenario that couldn't happen in a playoff model with only automatic qualifiers.

But this discussion requires some form of compromise. One idea floated is a so-called "three-and-one" model in which the three highest-rated conference champions and one wild card advance to the playoff. This model would allow a conference to send two teams -- one champion, one at-large -- to the playoff, which ultimately might be palatable to the SEC, which has won six consecutive BCS championships.

Delany agreed that any playoff should include the four best teams, but here's the rub: How do you pick that group? Delany finally joined the chorus of anti-BCS folks in acknowledging the current system is inherently flawed. The Big Ten prefers a selection committee, but that option lends itself to biases and self-interests.

This is where things get messy. The BCS formula, which combines computer rankings and human polls, lacks transparency and is overly confusing. As others have noted, Oregon finished one spot below Stanford in the final BCS rankings last season despite winning the Pac-12 title and drilling Stanford by 23 points. Oregon finished the regular season with one more loss than Stanford, but that came against LSU.

It's hard to support any system that produces that type of result. However, the thought of a committee of 10 or so individuals locked in a board room to decide a four-team field doesn't sound all that appealing either.

This is not the same as the college basketball selection committee picking the 68-team tournament field. Whatever team gets left out of that postseason probably deserved it and wouldn't win the title anyway. Imagine the pressure and scrutiny a football committee would endure in choosing between the fourth- and fifth-best team. Plus, how would you find anyone associated with college football who doesn't own some sort of bias?

There is no perfect formula though, and everyone must show some compromise. But at least they're having this discussion. A playoff in college football is inevitable. That's certainly better than status quo.

Chip Scoggins •

  • related content

  • Sandusky jurors include Penn State senior, ex-prof

    Wednesday June 6, 2012

    Most of the men and women who may render a verdict in Jerry Sandusky's child sexual abuse case have been chosen, and their ranks reflect the strong role Penn State...

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Houston 23 FINAL
Pittsburgh 30
San Diego 10/23/14 7:25 PM
Detroit 10/26/14 8:30 AM
Buffalo 10/26/14 12:00 PM
NY Jets
St. Louis 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
Houston 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Minnesota 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Seattle 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Baltimore 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Miami 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 10/26/14 12:00 PM
New England
Philadelphia 10/26/14 3:05 PM
Oakland 10/26/14 3:25 PM
Indianapolis 10/26/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay 10/26/14 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Chicago 98 FINAL
Cleveland 107
New Orleans 88 FINAL
Washington 84
Milwaukee 120 FINAL
New York 107
Philadelphia 88 FINAL
Brooklyn 99
Charlotte 114 FINAL
Atlanta 117
Sacramento 99 FINAL
San Antonio 106
Memphis 103 FINAL
Dallas 108
Tampa Bay 2 FINAL
Edmonton 3
Arkansas State 7:00 PM
Connecticut 10/23/14 6:00 PM
(18) East Carolina
Miami-Florida 10/23/14 7:00 PM
Virginia Tech
So Florida 10/24/14 6:00 PM
Troy 10/24/14 6:30 PM
South Alabama
BYU 10/24/14 8:00 PM
Boise State
(6) Oregon 10/24/14 9:00 PM
North Texas 10/25/14 11:00 AM
UAB 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Rutgers 10/25/14 11:00 AM
(16) Nebraska
Maryland 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Texas 10/25/14 11:00 AM
(11) Kansas State
Minnesota 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Memphis 10/25/14 11:00 AM
North Carolina 10/25/14 11:30 AM
San Jose St 10/25/14 12:00 PM
Northern Ill 10/25/14 12:00 PM
Eastern Mich
(25) UCLA 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Akron 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Ball State
Massachusetts 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Ohio U 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Western Mich
Ga Southern 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Georgia State
Kent State 10/25/14 1:30 PM
Oregon State 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Fla Atlantic 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(23) Marshall
Louisiana Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Southern Miss
(1) Miss State 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Georgia Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(22) West Virginia 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Oklahoma State
Texas Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(10) TCU
Michigan 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(8) Michigan State
Boston College 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Wake Forest
Central Mich 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Vanderbilt 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Old Dominion 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Western Ky
UNLV 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Utah State
Temple 10/25/14 4:00 PM
(15) Arizona 10/25/14 5:00 PM
Washington St
Texas-El Paso 10/25/14 6:00 PM
TX-San Antonio
Wyoming 10/25/14 6:00 PM
Colorado State
Syracuse 10/25/14 6:00 PM
(21) Clemson
Texas State 10/25/14 6:00 PM
(3) Ole Miss 10/25/14 6:15 PM
(24) LSU
(4) Alabama 10/25/14 6:30 PM
So Carolina 10/25/14 6:30 PM
(5) Auburn
(13) Ohio State 10/25/14 7:00 PM
Penn State
(20) USC 10/25/14 9:00 PM
(19) Utah
(14) Arizona State 10/25/14 9:45 PM
Nevada 10/25/14 10:59 PM
Montreal 10/24/14 5:30 PM
Saskatchewan 10/24/14 8:30 PM
Hamilton 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Brt Columbia 10/25/14 6:00 PM


question of the day

Poll: Are you happy to see the Royals in the World Series?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters