Special DFL race for southern Minn. House seat

  • Associated Press
  • January 29, 2013 - 6:14 AM

Democrats in St. Peter, North Mankato and surrounding communities are choosing a candidate in a special primary election for an open state House seat.

Four Democrats are on the ballot Tuesday to run for a seat left open by the retirement of former DFL Rep. Terry Morrow of St. Peter.

The candidates are Minnesota State professor Clark Johnson, North Mankato farmer Karl Johnson, North Mankato teacher and union activist Robin Courrier and St. Peter Mayor Tim Strand. Clark Johnson received the DFL endorsement after ballots were printed, prompting the other three candidates to suspend their campaigns and urge fellow Democrats to support him.

The special election will be held Feb. 12. The Republican candidate is former state representative Allen Quist, and the Independence Party's candidate is Tim Gieseke.

© 2018 Star Tribune