Minn. board to certify legislative recount winners

  • Associated Press
  • December 4, 2012 - 5:32 AM

Narrow wins by Republican Mary Franson and Democrat Kevin Dahle in legislative recounts are being made official on Tuesday.

The State Canvassing Board meets in St. Paul to certify the results of the recounts in House District 8B and Senate District 20.

Franson won the 8B recount and a second term representing the Alexandria area by 12 votes over Democrat Bob Cuniff.

Dahle won the Senate recount in the Northfield area by 71 votes, beating Republican Mike Dudley. Dahle is a former senator returning after a two-year absence.

Neither recount affected party control of the Legislature. Democrats will take over both chambers when the new Legislature convenes next month.

© 2018 Star Tribune