Tyler Johnson’s outstanding season for the Gophers was recognized by the Big Ten on Wednesday.

Johnson, a junior wide receiver, was named first-team All-Big Ten by a vote of the conference media. He also was named second team by a vote of the league’s coaches. The former Minneapolis North standout ranked second in the conference in receptions (74), receiving yards (1,112), receiving yards per game (92.7) and was third in touchdown receptions (10). He averaged 15.03 yards per catch, and no conference player ahead of him in that stat had more than 46 catches.

Johnson is the first Gopher to be named first-team All-Big Ten on offense since offensive lineman Zac Epping in 2014. He is the first receiver to be recognized with first-team honors since Eric Decker in 2009.

Johnson was the only Gopher to be selected for the first three All-Big Ten teams on offense, but Minnesota had six players, including the rest of their starting offensive line, receive honorable mention. Senor left tackle Donnell Greene was honorable mention by the coaches and media, while freshman right guard Blaise Andries, freshman right tackle Daniel Faalele, sophomore left guard Conner Olson and senior center Jared Weyler received honorable mention from the media, as did freshman running back Mohamed Ibrahim.

Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins and Purdue wide receiver each received two major awards. Haskins was named offensive player of the year and quarterback of the year, while Moore was named freshman of the year and receiver of the year.

Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor was named running back of the year, while Badgers guard Michael Deiter was named offensive lineman of the year. Iowa’s T.J. Hockenson was tight end of the year.

On Tuesday, six Gophers defensive and special teams players were honored. Defensive end Carter Coughlin was named second-team All-Big Ten by both the coaches and media, while linebacker Blake Cashman was named second team by the media and third-team by the coaches. Safety Jacob Huff earned honorable mention from both the coaches and media, and kicker Emmit Carpenter, punter Jacob Herbers and return specialist Demetrius Douglas were named honorable mention by the media.

Here is a look at the All-Big Ten offensive honorees:


Here is a look at the All-Big Ten defensive and special teams honorees:


Older Post

Gophers are going bowling. So where could they end up?

Newer Post

Missouri defensive end MJ Anderson withdraws commitment to Gophers