A capsule look at the Frozen Four teams

  • Updated: April 9, 2014 - 11:43 PM

ncaa frozen four capsules

Thursday’s semifinals at Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia

Boston College vs. Union

4 p.m., ESPN2


Record: 28-7-4

Conference: Hockey East

Coach: Jerry York, 494-241-71, 20th season at Boston College

Northeast Regional results: def. Denver 6-2, def. UMass-Lowell 4-3

Overview: The Eagles’ high-powered offense averages 4.10 goals per game and is led by the best line in college hockey. Hobey Baker Award favorite Johnny Gaudreau, Bill Arnold and Kevin Hayes have a combined 76 goals and 116 assists for 192 points. Gaudreau leads the country in goals (35) and is the nation’s scoring leader with 77 points. Hayes is No. 2 in the nation in scoring with 63 points and Arnold is No. 6 with 52 points. This group alone could be enough to drive Boston College to its sixth national championship and fourth in the past eight years.


Record: 30-6-4

Conference: ECAC

Coach: Rick Bennett, 78-27-16, third season at Union

East Regional results: def. Vermont 5-2, def. Providence 3-1

Overview: Union enters the Frozen Four as No. 1 in the USCHO poll but isn’t the favorite. The Dutchmen are in a field that includes three of college hockey’s most storied programs, putting them in an underdog role. Bennett said it’s OK if his program is given the “Rocky tag” despite their current 15-game unbeaten streak and second Frozen Four appearance in three years. Union also is the only team in college hockey with 30 victories and has the second-best offense in the nation (3.70 goals per game). The only team with better offense is Boston College. Senior Daniel Carr (22 goals, 26 assists) is the team’s leading scorer.

North Dakota vs. Gophers

7:30 p.m., ESPN2 (1500-AM)

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - T. Bauer 12:10 PM
Minnesota - A. Swarzak
Cincinnati - M. Leake 1:10 PM
Milwaukee - K. Lohse
Kansas City - J. Shields 1:10 PM
Chicago WSox - J. Quintana
Washington - S. Strasburg 2:10 PM
Colorado - J. De La Rosa
NY Mets - B. Colon 2:40 PM
Seattle - T. Walker
Detroit - A. Sanchez 2:40 PM
Arizona - T. Cahill
Los Angeles - D. Haren 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - F. Liriano
San Francisco - M. Bumgarner 6:05 PM
Philadelphia - A. Burnett
Texas - Y. Darvish 6:05 PM
NY Yankees - D. Phelps
Boston - C. Buchholz 6:07 PM
Toronto - R. Dickey
Miami - N. Eovaldi 6:10 PM
Atlanta - E. Santana
Tampa Bay - A. Cobb 6:15 PM
St. Louis - L. Lynn
San Diego - I. Kennedy 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - T. Wada
Houston - B. Peacock 9:05 PM
Oakland - J. Chavez
Baltimore - C. Tillman 9:05 PM
LA Angels - J. Weaver
Chicago 9:30 PM
San Jose
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Connecticut 10:30 AM
New York 9:30 PM
Los Angeles
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question