MIAC, NSIC land two teams in postseason

  • Updated: November 12, 2012 - 7:32 AM

The fields for the NCAA Division II and Division III football playoffs were announced on Sunday with two MIAC teams, two NSIC teams and one UMAC team being selected.

Minnesota State Mankato and Minnesota Duluth of the NSIC were selected to the 24-team Division II field. MSU Mankato (11-0) was awarded the No. 1 seed for the six-team Super Region 3. The Mavericks, who are in the playoffs for the first time since 2009, will have a first-round bye.

Minnesota Duluth (10-1), which won national championships in 2008 and 2010 and is making its fifth consecutive appearance in the playoffs, was named the No. 6 seed and will play at No. 3 seed Missouri Western State on Saturday.

The other three teams in Super Region 3 are No. 2 seed Henderson (Ark.) State, No. 4 Northwest Missouri State and No. 5 Harding (Ark.). Henderson State also will have a first-round bye.

MIAC champion St. Thomas (10-0), making its fourth consecutive appearance in the 32-team Division III playoff field, will play host to St. Norbert (8-2) on Saturday.

Bethel (8-2), which tied for second place in the MIAC, will play at unbeaten Concordia (Ill.), while UMAC representative St. Scholastica (8-2) will play at WIAC champion Wisconsin-Oshkosh (10-0).

Also, Winona State accepted an invitation to play in the Mineral Water Bowl against Lindenwood (Mo.) on Dec. 1 in Excelsior Springs, Mo.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Miami - LP: M. Dunn 1 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: D. Carpenter 3
Arizona - WP: T. Cahill 7 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: P. Strop 5
San Francisco - WP: J. Machi 12 FINAL
Colorado - LP: C. Bettis 10
Texas - WP: M. Perez 3 FINAL
Oakland - LP: S. Gray 0
Houston - LP: J. Fields 3 FINAL
Seattle - WP: F. Rodney 5
Cincinnati - WP: A. Simon 5 FINAL
Pittsburgh - LP: C. Morton 2
LA Angels - LP: E. Frieri 4 FINAL
Washington - WP: D. Storen 5
Kansas City - LP: K. Herrera 3 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: B. Shaw 5
Baltimore - WP: C. Tillman 10 FINAL
Toronto - LP: T. Redmond 8
Chicago WSox - WP: A. Rienzo 6 FINAL
Detroit - LP: E. Reed 4
St. Louis - LP: M. Wacha 2 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. Niese 3
Minnesota - WP: C. Fien 6 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: J. Lueke 4
NY Yankees - LP: M. Pineda 1 FINAL
Boston - WP: J. Lackey 5
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 2 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: K. Lohse 5
Philadelphia - LP: C. Hamels 2 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: Z. Greinke 5
Charlotte 97 FINAL
Miami 101
Dallas 113 FINAL
San Antonio 92
Portland 112 FINAL
Houston 105
Pittsburgh 3 FINAL(OT)
Columbus 4
Anaheim 2 FINAL
Dallas 4
St. Louis 3 FINAL(OT)
Chicago 4
Houston 0 FINAL
Red Bull New York 4
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Grade the Gophers men's hockey season

Weekly Question