Series preview: Ice Breaker Tournament

  • Updated: October 10, 2013 - 8:33 PM



7:10 p.m., Friday, first round of the Ice Breaker tournament at Mariucci Arena

TV/radio: Fox Sports North; 1500-AM.

Gophers at a glance: The Gophers will be the host of the Ice Breaker tournament for a third time. The last time coach Don Lucia’s team was the host of the season kickoff event (2007), the Gophers were the champions. This year’s young team will be tested immediately by Mercyhurst, and again on Saturday by New Hampshire or Clarkson. Last Saturday’s 5-1 exhibition victory over Lethbridge hinted that the Gophers young lineup can score. Five different players had goals, including three freshmen. Expect to see a lot of line shuffling as Lucia tries to see who skates well together.

Lakers at a glance: Mercyhurst enters Friday with a lot of hype around the program but is coming off an exhibition loss. The Lakers lost to the University of Guelph (Ontario) 4-3. The score, however, wasn’t representative of the play, however, as Mercyhurt held a 45-18 shots-on-goal advantage. The Lakers will be eager to make up for the loss, especially after receiving the most first-place votes in the Atlantic Hockey coaches’ preseason poll and picked to tie for second. Mercyhurst coach Rick Gotkin, starting his 25th season, also has been tabbed as one of the coaches to watch by College Hockey News’.

Clarkson and New Hampshire will play in the Ice Breaker opener at 4 p.m.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Toronto - LP: A. Loup 4 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: J. Outman 6
LA Angels - LP: H. Santiago 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: R. Porcello 2
Atlanta - LP: G. Schlosser 3 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. Valverde 4
Seattle - LP: T. Wilhelmsen 2 FINAL
Miami - WP: M. Dunn 3
St. Louis - LP: S. Maness 2 FINAL
Washington - WP: R. Soriano 3
Milwaukee - WP: Z. Duke 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh - LP: J. Gomez 2
NY Yankees - WP: P. Claiborne 5 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: H. Bell 1
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 8 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: Y. Ventura 3
Cincinnati - WP: H. Bailey 8 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: C. Villanueva 2
Chicago WSox - WP: E. Johnson 16 FINAL
Texas - LP: R. Ross Jr. 2
Houston - LP: B. Peacock 1 FINAL
Oakland - WP: J. Chavez 4
Philadelphia - WP: J. Diekman 10 FINAL
Colorado - LP: M. Belisle 9
San Francisco - WP: T. Lincecum 4 FINAL
San Diego - LP: R. Erlin 3
Arizona - LP: J. Collmenter 1 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: J. Wright 4
Baltimore - LP: B. Matusz 5 FINAL
Boston - WP: E. Mujica 6
Dallas 85 FINAL
San Antonio 90
Charlotte 88 FINAL
Miami 99
Washington 102 FINAL
Chicago 93
Portland 106 1st OT
Houston 106
Philadelphia 4 FINAL
NY Rangers 2
Detroit 1 FINAL
Boston 4
Tampa Bay 2 FINAL
Montreal 3
Los Angeles 2 3rd Prd 4:54
San Jose 7





question of the day

Poll: Which quarterback is best in the NFL draft?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters