BC streaks its way to title

The Eagles ended the season with their 19th victory in a row, winning their third NCAA title in five years.

Boston College’s Steven Whitney celebrated after scoring a goal in the first period Saturday as Ferris State goalie Taylor Nelson and Derek Graham looked on.


CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

TAMPA, FLA. - Boston College's dynasty in college hockey lives on.

BC defeated Frozen Four first-timer Ferris State 4-1 on Saturday at the Tampa Bay Times Forum for its third NCAA title in five years.

Johnny Gaudreau, called the best freshman in the country by his coach, Jerry York, ended most of the suspense by scoring his 21st goal of the season with three minutes to play. It gave the Eagles a two-goal lead. Teammate Steven Whitney added an empty-netter.

"That was a good as we can play," Ferris State coach Bob Daniels said. "They are very deserving as champions."

Boston College took a 2-1 lead in the first period on goals by Whitney in the fourth minute and Paul Carey in the 11th.

Whitney scored off a shot that went off a Bulldog's skate and caromed to him right to him just a couple of feet outside the blue paint.

Carey's goal came on a power play. A shot by defenseman Brian Dumoulin from the left point deflected off Carey for the game-winner.

In between, Garrett Thompson of Ferris State scored in the sixth minute on a rebound.

The score stayed at 2-1 BC until the final three minutes. Eagles goalie Parker Milner made 27 saves and was named the MVP of the Frozen Four.

"[Ferris State] is a very defensive, disciplined team," York said. "No one understood outside the hockey community how tough this game was going to be."

But Boston College, which beat the Gophers 6-1 in Thursday's semifinals, found a way to win its 19th game in a row.

Notes: Gophers captain Taylor Matson, a senior forward, signed an amateur tryout contact with the AHL's Chicago Wolves. ... Minnesota Duluth senior center Jack Connolly, who won the Hobey Baker Award on Friday, is going to play pro hockey in Sweden next season.

The announced attendance for the championship game was 18,818 -- the largest crowd ever for a first-time Frozen Four city.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Chicago WSox - LP: Z. Duke 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: J. Soria 2
San Diego - WP: J. Shields 5 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: B. Schlitter 4
Philadelphia - LP: S. O Sullivan 2 FINAL
Washington - WP: M. Scherzer 7
Milwaukee - LP: J. Nelson 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: V. Worley 6
Atlanta - WP: C. Martin 8 FINAL
Toronto - LP: B. Cecil 7
Miami - LP: B. Hand 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: B. Colon 4
Baltimore - LP: B. Matusz 2 FINAL
Boston - WP: K. Uehara 3
NY Yankees - WP: D. Betances 5 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: K. Jepsen 4
LA Angels - WP: C. Ramos 6 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 3
Cleveland - LP: B. Shaw 2 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: B. Boyer 3
Oakland - LP: D. Otero 4 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: W. Davis 6
Cincinnati - LP: J. Cueto 1 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: M. Wacha 6
Colorado - LP: K. Kendrick 3 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: C. Kershaw 7
Texas - WP: Y. Gallardo 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: J. Happ 1
Arizona - WP: J. Collmenter 9 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: J. Peavy 0
Ottawa 2 FINAL(OT)
Montreal 3
NY Islanders 3 FINAL
Washington 4
Chicago 2 FINAL
Nashville 6
Calgary 1 FINAL
Vancouver 4
San Jose 0 FINAL
Red Bull New York 2


question of the day

Poll: Who will be the Wild's MVP against St. Louis?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters