South school briefs: BlueSky Online School earns accreditation

  • Article by: Erin Adler
  • Star Tribune
  • April 23, 2013 - 10:55 PM

West St. Paul

BlueSky Online School earns accreditation

BlueSky Online School announced last week that it has earned accreditation from the North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement for a five-year period.

The review process began in 2010 and included interviews with students, parents and teachers. The online public charter school, serving grades 7-12, is based in West St. Paul but enrolls students from throughout the state.

Burnsville- Eagan-Savage

District to honor its top teachers

On May 8, staff, students and the community are invited to attend the Building Teachers of the Year reception put on by the Burnsville Education Association (BEA) and the district.

At the event, the BEA will honor 17 teachers and also announce the district’s 2012-13 Teacher of the Year.

Refreshments will be served at 4 p.m. and the ceremony will begin at 4:30 p.m. in the upper level Senior Campus commons at the Diamondhead Education Center, 200 W. Burnsville Parkway, Burnsville.

Buses to feature students’ artwork

The artwork of two Burnsville High School students was selected to adorn interior panels of Minnesota Valley Transit Authority (MVTA) buses.

Sophomore Suraj Shah and senior Mackenzie Hearnen worked on the winning entries in their high school art class. They will receive gift cards in addition to having their art displayed.

The project is part of a partnership between the MVTA and local schools.


District seeks Hall of Fame nominations

The Shakopee School District and the Shakopee Education Endowment Foundation are sponsoring the Shakopee Public Schools Hall of Fame to recognize notable alumni.

Nominations of outstanding graduates who have made contributions in their career, the community or through personal achievements are currently being accepted.

For a full list of criteria and the nomination form, go to To be considered for this year’s Hall of Fame, nominations must be received by June 28 at 5 p.m.


© 2018 Star Tribune