School briefs

  • Updated: July 1, 2014 - 1:37 PM

Burnsville- Eagan-Savage

Principals will read to kids in Burnsville

On Thursdays this summer, elementary school principals from the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage district will read to kids in the park as part of the Rockin’ Readers program.

The book selections are geared toward elementary and preschool children.

The free events will take place at 11:15 a.m. at Nicollet Commons Park in Burnsville’s Heart of the City.

After the reading, families can stay for the free Rockin’ Lunch Hour concerts, sponsored by the City of Burnsville.

The lineup: July 10: Jon Bonneville, Hidden Valley; July 17: Brad Robb, Vista View; July 24: Drew Goeldner, Sky Oaks; July 31: Lyle Bomsta, William Byrne; Aug. 7: Jeff Nepsund, Marion W. Savage; Aug. 14: Elizabeth Vaught, Edward Neill; Aug. 21: Barbara Borer, Rahn.

Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan

Schools earn forensics awards

Eagan and Apple Valley high schools were both honored at this year’s National Speech and Debate Association (formerly the National Forensic League) national tournament, held on June 15-20 in Kansas City.

Eagan was one of 10 schools in the country to be named a School of Outstanding Distinction and Apple Valley was one of 21 schools to be named a Speech School of Excellence.

Eagan High School Principal Polly Reikowski was named the association’s Principal of the Year. She was given the award for supporting strong speech and debate programming, and for her contributions during a 40-year career as a teacher, speech coach and administrator in three district high schools.

Of the 25 students who qualified for the tournament, two made it to the final rounds in their event and three others advanced to semifinals.

Laurel Scott of Eagan finished as national runner-up in original oratory and Moti Begna of Apple Valley took fifth in original oratory. Adam Stromme of Eagan finished ninth in U.S. extemporaneous speaking and earned an award for being a four-time qualifier for the national tournament. Stephanie Kahle of Apple Valley was a semifinalist, taking 10th place in humorous interpretation, and Nikhil Venkatasubramanian of Eastview High School was a semifinalist in congressional debate.

Prior Lake-Savage

Four school board seats open

Four school board seats, currently held by Todd Sorensen, Stacey Ruelle, Richard Wolf and Lee Shimek, expire at the end of 2014. Each of these terms are four years.

There is also a two year board seat open, which will fill a vacancy. That seat currently is held by Mike Murray.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters