Minnesota requests federal disaster aid for 30 additional counties

  • Updated: July 29, 2014 - 8:45 PM

Minnesota expanded its request for federal disaster assistance Tuesday to include more than a third of the state, adding 30 more counties and two tribal governments to the list of regions still struggling to rebuild after flooding in June and July.

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety is asking the Federal Emergency Management Agency to declare federal disasters in areas ranging from the Twin Cities to the Canadian and Iowa borders. Damage assessment teams have combed the state for weeks, tallying the damage from the storms that washed out roads and dams, swamped cropland and neighborhoods, and pushed many of the state’s rivers over their banks.

The new federal disaster request lists: Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Dakota, Dodge, Faribault, Hennepin, Koochiching, Lac qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lyon, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Nicollet, Ramsey, Redwood, Rice, Roseau, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd, Wadena, Waseca, Watonwan, Wright and Yellow Medicine counties, as well as the tribal governments of the Red Lake Band of Chippewa and Prairie Island Indian Community.

Eight counties are already federal disaster areas — Chippewa, Freeborn, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Renville and Rock Counties. The designation makes it easier for local governments and nonprofits to secure federal aid, both with cleanup and with mitigation efforts to try to prevent future flooding.

Jennifer Brooks

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters


Golden Gavel by Star Tribune

Countdown to great deals

Bid Sept. 21-29





question of the day

Poll: How will the Vikings and Gophers do this weekend?

Weekly Question