Are you ready to rock?  Are you ready to roll over Beethoven? "Rocktopia" might be just the ticket, especially with Father's Day looming.

The PBS sensation — new to DVD ($25) under the title "Rocktopia Live in Budapest: A Classical (R)evolution," plus CD ($20) or MP3 ($9) — soars with its often clever blending of classical music and hit rock songs.

The live, 78-minute production hits a high note with Ximena Borges' performance of Handel's "Lascia Ch'io Pianga" brilliantly morphed with Tony Vincent's aching rendition of Elton John's "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me." Likewise, Chloe Lowery's powerful rendition of Heart's "Alone," by way of Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, proves to be special.

But the pairing of Tchaikovsky's overture to "Romeo and Juliet" with Kimberly Nichole's take on Patti Smith's "Because the Night" creates one serious miss. That classic song doesn't have enough melodic variation for a project like this. And while "The Great Gate of Kiev" from Mussorgsky's "Pictures at an Exhibition" and Rob Evan's delivery of U2's "Where the Streets Have No Name" work fine independently, their marriage is clunky.

Still, most fans of classic rock and classical music will want an encore.

Other fusions on the DVD include:

  • "Also Sprach Zarathustra" / "Baba O'Riley"
  • "Eine Kleine Nachtmusik" / "Come Sail Away"
  • "Lascia Ch'io Pianga" / "Don't Let the Sun Go Down On Me"
  • "Symphonie Fantastique" / "Dream On"
  • "Caruso" / "I Want To Know What Love Is"
  • "Fanfare for the Common Man" / "On the Turning Away"
  • "Ode to Joy" / "Don't Stop Believing"


Coming Tuesday

• "Bitter Harvest"

• "Dragonheart: Battle for the Heartfire"

• "Growing Up Smith"

• "John Wick 2"

• "The Lego Batman Movie"