CHICAGO — What's that? You want more than 1,000 words of extra stuff about the Twins' 9-6 loss tonight? Came to the right place:
I wrote about Eduardo Nunez's big mistake in the game story tonight, but didn't get into the fact that the play included an interesting and rare scorer's ruling. Under better circumstances, it may have cost Nunez a shot at his first career cycle. The ruling was correct under MLB rules — but inaccurately reflected what happened.
It came in what Paul Molitor felt may have been the critical sequence of the game, considering the Twins trailed just 2-1 at the time.
Kurt Suzuki led off the inning with a single, and stayed put as Byron Buxton flew out. Then Nunez, who had already homered and singled, came to the plate and drove what looked like another home run to the right field fence. But the ball struck the top of the fence, perhaps due to Adam Eaton's leaping attempt to catch it.
As the ball bounced away from Eaton, Suzuki began hustling around the bases, with Nunez closing fast right behind him. Suzuki was waved home, perhaps because Nunez was already bearing down on third base himself, and he arrived at the plate several steps after Eaton's throw. Nunez had already rounded third and was perhaps 30 feet down the line when he realized he had miscalculated, and scrambled back to third base as Suzuki gave up and allowed himself to be tagged by catcher Dioner Navarro.
The official scorer ruled the play a double, with Nunez advancing to third on the throw home — a judgment that seemed ridiculous on its face, because Nunez was already nearing third base when Eaton threw the ball. Nunez never had any intention of stopping at second, throw or not.
But the official scorer, Bob Rosenberg, pointed out rule 10.7(b), and the interpretation that accompanies it. And the rule specifically and unambiguously applies to this situation, despite the fact that the circumstances don't really fit.
"Do not credit the batter with a three-base hit when a preceding runner is put out at the plate, or would have been but for an error," the rules interpretation reads.