The Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) announced its 12-member Hall of Fame Class of 2017 on Thursday.

Among the inductees are three athletes, two coaches, two administrators, three officials and two from fine arts.

The list: Darrell Thompson, Rochester John Marshall, football/basketball/track; Krissy Wendell-Pohl, Park Center, hockey; Heather Van Norman, Windom, track and field; Bill Miles, Wayzata, track and field/cross-country coach; Dwight Lundeen, Becker, football coach; Kevin Merkle, MSHSL associate director; Marv Peters, Rochester Lourdes, athletic director; Harry Kitts, Roseville, official; Larry Gallagher, Columbia Heights, official; Dick Eldridge, North St. Paul, official; Todd Hering, Stillwater/Eastview, speech and debate; and Bruce Phelps, Anoka, music.

The induction ceremony will be Oct. 22 at the St. Paul Riverfront Hotel.


• Tony Thomas had three hits, including a two-run homer in the eighth inning, scored three times and drove in three runs as the St. Paul Saints beat host Winnipeg 10-7 to end a five-game losing streak. The Saints scored runs in six of the first eight innings.

• The Gophers women's soccer team opens its season by playing Washington State at 9 p.m. Friday in Pullman, Wash. Minnesota is the defending Big Ten champion and returns seven starters, including three defenders.

• The Gophers wrestling program announced its 2017-18 schedule. Minnesota will face Air Force on Nov. 12 in the first of six home meets. The Gophers also will wrestle four of the top five teams in the past NCAA meet on the road.

• After 17 seasons as women's basketball coach at Valley City State, Jill DeVries was named the school's athletic director. DeVries, from Glyndon, Minn., will be the first female athletic director in school history.