Ten finalists for the Mr. Hockey Award, recognizing the state's top senior boys' hockey player, were announced Thursday by the Minnesota Minute Men, which coordinate the award.

They are Matt Anderson of Holy Family, Noah Cates of Stillwater, Ben Meyers of Delano, Nick Leivermann and Casey Mittelstadt of Eden Prairie, Micah Miller of Grand Rapids, Bauer Neudecker of St. Louis Park, Nick Perbix of Elk River, and Dylan Samberg and Ryan Sandelin of Hermantown.

Jake Begley of Hill-Murray and Cade McEwen of Hermantown were named finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award, given to the top senior boys' goaltender.

The winners will be announced at a banquet on March 12 in St. Paul.

• Five finalists for the Ms. Hockey award, presented to the top senior girls' hockey player in Minnesota, were announced Thursday. They are forwards Naomi Rogge of Eden Prairie, Taylor Wente of Maple Grove and Grace Zumwinkle of Breck, and defensemen Grace Bowlby of Edina and Emily Brown of Blaine. The winner will be announced Feb. 26 in St. Paul.


• Quinnipiac forward Mika Nervick, a senior from Lakeville, is one of five finalists — and the only female — for the Hockey Humanitarian Award, which will be given out at the Frozen Four to college hockey's "finest citizen." She is the Bobcats' community services coordinator and leads a program that mentors over 100 at-risk high school students.

• The Gophers' Yu Zhou won the 1-meter diving event (362.65 points) for the third consecutive year in the Big Ten women's swimming and diving meet at Purdue. Minnesota's 400-yard medley relay (3:30.70) placed second with a program record.

• St. Cloud State's Gage Davis was named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's NCAA Division II national player of the week. The 6-4 sophomore guard from Bolingbrook, Ill., averaged 35 points, 9.5 rebounds and 7.0 assists per game as the Huskies went 1-1.