A successful penalty shot by Sharks center Logan Couture in the third period Monday didn't just seal a 3-0 loss for the Wild at Xcel Energy Center.

It also provided a rules lesson.

After Couture was hooked by defenseman Anthony Bitetto during a breakaway, Couture was awarded a penalty shot — which he buried five-hole on goalie Devan Dubnyk.

The Wild then tried to issue a coach's challenge to determine if Couture was offside on his breakaway attempt.

Initially, it looked like the sequence would get reviewed because the referee contacted the league's situation room to relay the Wild's request.

But the NHL confirmed that the Wild couldn't use a challenge since a challenge can only review a play that results in a goal. And since the breakaway didn't end up in the net, the Wild couldn't get a further look at the sequence.