Minneapolis Washburn has been among the top boys’ soccer programs in the metro for much of the last decade, but until Sept. 29, it had been more than a quarter-century since the Millers could claim to be the best team in the Minneapolis Conference.

That 26-year streak ended on a Minneapolis South field on which they had experienced scant success when the Millers rallied from a 1-0 deficit with three goals in the final 10 minutes to defeat the Tigers 3-1. Senior forward Juan Louis scored two goals for Washburn, both on breakaways, and Luke Peterson added a game-clinching header in the waning minutes.

The victory ended a second 26-year drought, as Washburn had not won at South since 1990.

The Washburn girls’ soccer team capped off the night with a 9-0 rout of South, clinching its fifth consecutive conference title.

Polar commits

Minneapolis North senior Isaac Johnson gave a verbal commitment to play basketball for Western Illinois. Johnson, also a standout wide receiver for the football team, averaged 14.6 points per game for the Polars in their run to the Class 1A championship last year.

Another Hall of Fame

Minnetonka football coach Dave Nelson was inducted into the Anoka High School Hall of Fame on Sept. 16, his third such honor. Nelson has also been inducted into the University of Minnesota-Duluth Hall of Fame and the Minnesota High School Football Coaches Hall of Fame