Target Center will be host to the National Collegiate Hockey Conference’s postseason tournament, beginning in 2014.

The agreement between Target Center and the NCHC lasts five years.

The eight-team NCHC starts play in 2013-14.

The conference will have quarterfinals at the home ice of the top four teams, and the four remaining teams will play at Target Center. Semifinal and championship games of the NCHC tournament will be televised on CBS Sports Network.

The NCHC includes Colorado College, Denver, North Dakota, Minnesota Duluth, Nebraska Omaha and St. Cloud State, six teams moving over from the WCHA; and two teams moving from the CCHA — Western Michigan and Miami-Ohio.

The conference was formed after the Big Ten announced it would begin play in 2013-14 once Penn State moves to men’s varsity status, giving that league six teams — Minnesota, Wisconsin, Ohio State, Michigan State, Michigan and Penn State.

Remaining teams in the current WCHA and CCHA, leagues entering their final season, will play in the reformed WCHA for 2013-14. That league has not announced its postseason plays. WCHA teams beginning that season will be Ferris State, Bowling Green, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, Lake Superior State, Alaska Anchorage, Alaska Fairbanks, Bemidji State and Minnesota State.